Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 16th 2007
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Reclining BuddhaReclining BuddhaReclining Buddha

This magnificent reclining buddha is awe-inspiring. See speck of a person on bottom left.
This is a hard one. I have loved keeping the blogs while I'm in the midst of my adventures but this time, i'm back. My whirlwind adventure is finished and I'm musing over whether or not to share with you all the profound thoughts and observations that have struck me while on the road or to merely stick to the facts. Unfortunately, internet access was poor when I had the time to write and now, well now it's Sunday night, my bags are unpacked, my belongings are in various stages of being properly put away and tomorrow, well tomorrow I'll be waking up and getting ready for work instead of a day at the beach. Point being, these are going to be short and sweet.

The cast: this trip was originally planned by my friend and co-worker Christine. She and her friend Tracy had planned it sometime in late 2006. I was struck with that tinge of jealously when I heard she was heading to Angkor Wat - the ancient ruins I've read so much about the past couple of years. They were also planning a couple of stops in Thailand, another place I've never been. In January, another coworker of ours, Johnvey, and I decided we were going to tag along.

We left on February 14th and arrived late the 15th/early the 16th in Bangkok. Up until the day we departed, I had been looking at overnight trips Johnvey and I could take because I hadn't much interest in staying around Bangkok. Being big-city adverse, I wanted to venture out into the country side of Thailand. But we simply didn't have enough time to go anywhere. THANK GOODNESS! Bangkok is awesome. From the old temples and buddhist shrines to the absolutely incredible shopping, Bangkok is great. I would go back in a heartbeat. All the negative things I had read about that made the city unpleasant simply weren't that bad. At this point, I wish I had more time there!

We stayed until the 19th or 20th (I never did manage to keep track of the days) and headed to Cambodia. (see next blog)






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Chatachuk Weekend MarketChatachuk Weekend Market
Chatachuk Weekend Market

Probably the most amazing flea market ever! Not a great example of the wares but amusing section that sold used sneakers.
View from River TaxiView from River Taxi
View from River Taxi

Actually, it was more like a river bus. Extremely convenient and a nice breeze provided momentary relief from the oppressive heat and humidity.
YumYum
Yum

Thai food for sell near the Royal Palace


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb