The black cloud follows me to Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 18th 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well for those who have known me for a while you know that disaster seems to follow me and things always go wrong. Well this trip was no exception.

It all started on my way to the airport in Taiwan. I was taking the train since I consider the train to be a reliable on time source of transportation. Well I have never had any problems until I actually wanted to leave the country. Apparently there was an accident on the train tracks. Well our train was stopped for a VERY long time and I started to get really freaked out that I was going to miss my flight to Thailand. They just kept talking in CHinese so I had NO idea what was going on and nobody would tell me when I asked either. Finally I probably looked like I was going to have a nervous breakdown so the girl next to me drew me a picture and crashed her hands together to symbolize an accident. Great, fabulous....I thought I was goin to miss my flight. After an hour we finally got rollin and i made it to the station where I needed to get off. Then I found the taxi driver with the reddest teeth (meaning he was hopped up on bettle nut) so he would drive like a maniac to the airport. well i made it there and it was a pretty scary ride, but at least I didnt miss my flight!!

The first week was uneventful at the orphanage until I went to get my flight back to Bangkok. First of all the airport was freezing, while waiting for my plane my feet turned blue, I didnt even bring any warm clothes with my to Thailand so I just sat and froze. Then my plane was 30 min late getting in. Go figure, we now call it Thai time, everything is slow and late. Well I was only concerned with this cause Mary was supposed to meet me in Bangkok at 1130 when my flight got in. Well my flight got in at 12 and once we were shuttled in from a mile away from the terminal, I ran to find her so she wouldnt be too worried. Well she had freaked out and thought she missed me or something happened, the joys of traveling without cell phones. Thank goodness we made it and we proceded to our hostel, which our taxi driver counldnt find and had to call the place to get directions.

We stayed 2 days in Bangkok and lucky us we were there on the weekend. So early Sunday morning we hit up the worlds biggest market, the weekend market. We could have shopped here for weeks, it was the biggest and best market I have ever been to, and I have been to alot. We shopped all morning and we decided to leave once it got real crowded. Then we headed to the Grand Palace. Well little did we know it closes at 330, so we got to see the cool wall around the palace. We did get a good view from the taxi boat though. At night we wandered around to check out what was going on, it was pretty dead since it was a sunday but enjoyable none the less. The next day we shopped some more the we headed to the train station to take our overnight train.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.13s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb