Another Couple Great Days in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 8th 2005
Published: July 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Grand PalaceGrand PalaceGrand Palace

The artwork here is amazing. The sun was so bright that it was glaring off the gold.
Hello everyone. I haven't checked my e-mail in a couple days - the hotel charged for it and I was too cheap. Bangkok is absolutely amazing, in so many ways. It is big, noisy, dirty and yet wonderful. I cannot express how great the Thai people are. I am learning some new words. Boy, this tonal language is really difficult to even hear the subtelties in, much less parrot them back.

Ka-wa-dit-ka (spelled phoenetically in english) is hello
Kap-kune-ka is thank you
dai-po is please.

I have changed hotels, because of a change of plans. I am now at the Grand Hyatt in Bangkok for 7/8 7/9 and 7/10. I will still be at the Grand Hyatt at Hua Hin for 7/11, 7/12, 7/13 and then back to the Grand Hyatt in Bangkok for 7/14. I have changed my flight to now fly home on 7/15. I had run into some Aussies who reported an outbreak of violence in Cambodia, so I decided to re-figure my remaining time. Speaking of violence, I am so saddened by the bombings in London, as I am sure you all are. Security here has stepped up also. They would not let my taxi
Kim and the SnakeKim and the SnakeKim and the Snake

My guide really, really wanted to take my picture in front of the snake. I didn't tell him how funny that was! Thank goodness you can't see the sweat dripping off me in the picture!
enter the driveway at the Grand Hyatt until a guard had checked the trunk for explosives. I'm not sure whether that makes me feel better or worse :-) it is what it is.

Well, I have had a great couple of days and will be attaching some pictures. My first hotel (the Marriott) was across the river from Bangkok and to get to Bangkok they provided a river shuttle service on old rice barges. I went to the Grand Palace and then took a longboat tour of the canals. It was wonderful - I saw an alligator on the side of the canal - wonderful. The river was so filthy I thought we'd be doomed if the boat sank, then I realized that might not be the worst of my troubles (kidding). Seriously, the river was gross and smelly but blessedly cool. I have to tell you I am getting sooooo tired of sweating!

A couple more days in Bangkok, which unfortunately I'll probably spend shopping. My big suitcase is not exclusively things I've bought, but I can't seem to stop. That is more than mildly hilarious since we all know it's like pulling teeth to get me
The Guardians of the PalaceThe Guardians of the PalaceThe Guardians of the Palace

Too bad there were so many people, but these guys were really quite impressive.
to the mall. However, the things here are so interesting and the prices so good - right up until they charge me for overweight on the baggage coming home. I figure I'll ship some presents and all my clothes home on the last day and cross my fingers!

Well, keep the e-mails coming. I dearly love hearing from you all. Although I miss Sophie and Mickey so very much (I look at their little pictures on my IPOD every day), I haven't worried once about them because I know they are happy as little clams and being very well looked after.

Okay, I'm going to upload a bunch of pics now. Love to all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

The "Super Monkeys"The "Super Monkeys"
The "Super Monkeys"

These were, by far, my favorites. I'm going to crop this when I get home and frame it. By the way, all this gold is real!
Temple TopTemple Top
Temple Top

Magnificient!
Temple OfferingsTemple Offerings
Temple Offerings

This is the offering place, where people light incense and say prayers. For all the people around, you could feel the spirituality.
Wat ArunWat Arun
Wat Arun

A Wat is a temple. This one is done in the Khmer style and is called the Temple of the Dawn. Ironically, it is best seen at sunset. I couldn't figure out how to get across the river to get there and I was hot and hungry. Maybe I'll make another attempt
Rice BargeRice Barge
Rice Barge

This is the hotel Rice Barge Shuttle. It was quaint and efficient. Also, blessedly cool.
Longtail boatsLongtail boats
Longtail boats

These are longtail boats, that can be used in the shallower canals. They hang flowers off the front as an offering to ensure safety on the river.
Canal ladyCanal lady
Canal lady

This lady is a seller. She has a small boat on the canal and you pull alongside her to buy trinkets or beer. I got a happy Buddha and a beer for my driver.
My alligatorMy alligator
My alligator

I hope you can see this one. I was so startled, and we were going so fast, I almost missed it. The alligator is below the break in the red wall, ontop of the long tin piece and is a baby. Alligators, who knew?
The canalThe canal
The canal

There are miles of these little canals, and many Thais live along them. Although extremely smelly, there is a nice breeze along the canal. Also, using boats allows people to avoid some of the horrendous traffic.
Canal homeCanal home
Canal home

Some of these are quite charming and quaint
Canal home 2Canal home 2
Canal home 2

Some of these are quite charming and quaint
Canal home 3Canal home 3
Canal home 3

Some of these are quite charming and quaint
Temple on the riverTemple on the river
Temple on the river

Okay, I have no clue what this is, and my longtail boat driver spoke no English, but I thought it was interesting
Chao Praya River at DawnChao Praya River at Dawn
Chao Praya River at Dawn

This is the river at dawn this morning. Pretty, isn't it? I know, you're asking yourself, what was she doing up? I don't know, I'm keeping kind of weird hours.
Orchid Boat at my hotelOrchid Boat at my hotel
Orchid Boat at my hotel

The Marriott is absolutely beautiful and orchids grow like mad here.
Another beautiful vignette from my hotelAnother beautiful vignette from my hotel
Another beautiful vignette from my hotel

The Marriott is absolutely beautiful and orchids grow like mad here.


11th July 2005

zzzzzzzzzz
i havent looked at ur site untill now on july10th
11th July 2005

it's a lizard not an alligator.
12th July 2005

Semantics
Alligator, lizard, schmizard - it was huge and could bite! Obviously, a post from someone who doesn't know about my ahem, aversion to lizards and snakes :-) Seriously, thanks for the clarification - the riverguide said alligator, who was I to doubt him. As I always say, it doesn't matter if the snake is poisonous because a heart attack makes you just as dead!
19th July 2005

Bankok is Beautiful!!!!! I would love to go to Bankok!!!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb