The Grand Palace


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 17th 2007
Published: January 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I walked to the Grand Palace and the temple of the Emerald Buddha. On the way there I had another bad incident. I think maybe because I am a female traveling alone that people like to pick me to scam. I was walking through this park (the Grand Palace is only a 15 minute walk) and this lady wanted to sell me some corn to throw to the pigeons. I hate pigeons, so I was like leave me alone lady, and take your gross pigeons with you. She managed to put some corn onto my bent arm and it stuck. The pigeons came flying and I sort of freaked out. Thank God, none of them landed on me but they were surrounding me. She handed me a bag and I threw it far away from me but they were still all around my feet. I think she then realized how disgusted I was and shooed them all away. Then she stood in front of me and said," MONEY!" She wanted me to pay her for that! I thought, sure 10 baht, shut her up and then I can be pigeon free. I opened up my little coin purse and she came close, saw my money, and grabbed a 500 baht bill! Then she said 750 baht. She wanted more! I said no, and walked away. But I am still pissed she took so much money from me. I try to not be an easy target but so far it looks as though I am one.

The Grand Palace was grand. Although the main attraction is the temple of the emerald buddha. I couldn't take pictures of it, but sometime when I figure it out, I will post my other pictures. I spent the rest of the day around Khao San.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb