I have arrived!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 15th 2007
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

I am sitting in an internet cafe opposite my hotel (the Asia Hotel) of which I will be checking out of in a couple of hours to head to my next hotel where I will meet everyone from the tour. The flight was great! We had the new plane so we had screens in the backs of our seats and two meal sittings which were both yum, albeit a little bland. So...last night was interesting, got to suvahnabhumi airport (which is quite new- was only completed last September I think) and walked foreverrr to get to customs/immigration. Quite funny, they have all these smoking rooms inside the airport where people just go and stand in a room and smoke because they can't go outside. After going out to find my transfer, surprise, noone was there! I went and talked to the company that was supposed to be organising it but they said because it was a Sunday it was a holiday and that was why noone was there for me. DOH!! So then I had to pay 900 Baht ($30) for a special taxi to my hotel which is VERY expensive, but they guy said it was safer than just getting a regular taxi, which would have been about 300 ($10) baht max. Driving on the 4 lane freeway, there are so many psycho drivers - my driver was actually quite slow compared to the majority. People sit in the back of utes on the highway and cram into these cages at the backs of cars too..I think I counted one car with 12 people in the back side to side, the tray door was half out. Got to the hotel at a bout 10:30pm and checked in. The room was ok - a lil dingy but clean and thats all you need hey! There's a rooftop pool which I 'm going to checkout before I leave too. Had a lil brekky but nothing too much, just a croissant, pineapple and muffin. There was a buffet but I don't really feel all too hungry. I walked over to Siam Square but it doesn't open till 10:00am (it's 9:18am here atm, Thailand is 3 hours behind Brisbane). Then had a further walk around and took some more pictures. So far I've only had one tuk tuk driver stop me to try to get me to take a tour - he was like 'where you go??' and I said asia hotel (which funnily enough was right next door to where he was standing). Said no about a million times then when he didn't get it I walked off :P That's about it..will meet up with my tour today so that's exciting, plus im going to try and get my hair done at siam square (they have toni & Guy and l'oreal professionel there). Its a bit stinky here in bangkok too. I can't figure out how to call from my mobile, only send messages. Everytime I try to call it just goes like its about to connect for ages then doesnt so I think I will be mainly just sending texts/communicating thru here. That's about it..will update later.

Advertisement



16th January 2007

Ahh these novice travellers getting excited by smoking rooms at the airport, just got back to Oz yesterday yay! its good to be home. Hope it all goes well!

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb