1st Stop, Bangkok.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 17th 2013
Published: April 10th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Bangkok


AirportAirportAirport

Bangkok Airport






Bangkok is, was and will be my travel hub for the length of this journey. It is a city like none other. Vibrant with street food vendors, tukuks and tourists from across the world. Definitely one of my favorite cities in the world.

Khao San Road is a small strip of open markets, bars and clubs. It's considered one of the tourist Mecca in Bangkok. Its blend of street food and western influenced bars can be an interesting spot to check out. Any more than a day spent on Khao San Road can be overwhelming.

My brief stay in Thailand has led me to believe that Thai people are culturally rich, kind, and tolerant people. So many cultures are fused together to create what we know as modern Thailand. Being in the tourist hub of Thailand, I do not feel I can get a real understanding of how an average Thai person feels about people of other cultures. I find myself in a constant battle between tourists and hagglers. It appears as though all they see tourist as, are walking ATMs, which I understand since tourism is a big part of this economy.
In TransitIn TransitIn Transit

I took the Metro from Bangkok Airport to Bang Rak, which is where my Hostel is.
I wonder if this tourist driven economy will effect Thailand's future culture development? With a couple more days left in the big city I am excited to head north to more rural areas. Hopefully, I can find what I'm looking for there..





Hua Lamphong Railway Station



Locals, I feel you bro.






"I will be more certain as I go. No more assumptions. There must be clarity. I will find purpose on this journey. Although, I'd planned on seeing some historical sites, I'm not planning on staying in touristy area for long. I will adapt to a specific lifestyle. Three meals a day is a luxury. I will practice a skill that has gotten me far in life: Frugality."
Journal Entry: 10.17.2013




Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MotorbikesMotorbikes
Motorbikes

I wasn't used to seeing so many motorbikes on the streets.
ShrineShrine
Shrine

Shrine in a quiet corner of a lively city.
Hangover TowerHangover Tower
Hangover Tower

Know to visitors as "Hangover Tower." There were some scene in the 2nd Hangover movie that featured this Tower.
Old meets NewOld meets New
Old meets New

Old buildings co-exist with new buildings.
Tourist AreaTourist Area
Tourist Area

I meet some fellow travelers at a hostel near Khao San rd. We went out that night to check out some bars.
WalkingWalking
Walking

I walked around Bangkok during the day. This captured my attention.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb