A Weekend In Bangkok · Work, Foods & Friends


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 24th 2019
Published: May 24th 2019
Edit Blog Post

The Wedding Night



Over the weekend, I was invited a wedding in Bangkok, so on Friday a few friends and I flew in from Chiang Mai. These friends are colleagues whom I work with, and we were due to have a meeting with some clients of mine in the Sukhumvit area. First, though, we checked into our hotel in Silom and after quickly getting changed we raced over to our friend’s wedding, which was a truly lavish affair, with lots of traditional Thai food and a huge amount of dessert. My favourite part was when I get to see and talk to friends from University. What a moment!



Work and Play in Sukhumvit



The next morning we had our meeting at E88 Bangkok, an office space for rent in Sukhumvit. I have to say, I was worried about impressing my clients, but as soon as I saw the meeting room I knew we were off to a great start. In fact, before we even got upstairs I could see the building itself was going to make an excellent first impression. So modern and stylish! Then the room itself had a calm, professional atmosphere that allowed us to really get down to work. Truly the best meeting room rental in Bangkok I could’ve hoped for.




Anyway, the meeting was a real success so, because we were in Sukhumvit, we decided to check out Cielo Sky Bar to celebrate. I’ve been to Cielo before, but I couldn’t wait to go back and sample their dinner menu. I had the coffee cured smoked Norwegian salmon, and I’m happy to report that it tastes as good as it sounds. Then there are the views, of course, which are incredible and let you take in the whole city as you eat. What a place! I just know I’ll go back there whenever I’m in Sukhumvit because, no matter who I’m with, we always feel really looked after, and their cocktail menu is worth the visit alone. My personal favourite is the Scent of Art, which combines gin, lavender and egg white to create something really quite special. So a big thanks to everyone at Cielo and I’ll see you all again soon!



Siam, China Town and Friends



On Sunday, we went to the Siam Centre to indulge in some much needed retail therapy. I hadn’t been to Siam before, but I was impressed with what I can only describe as a truly huge variety of shops. More than enough to keep us busy! What’s great is the combination of international and Thai brands they have on offer, plus a wonderful food court on the top floor. Overall, a really nice way to spend the morning.




After that, we moved on to one of my favourite places in Bangkok, China Town. For me, there’s really nothing like joining the hustle and bustle of the Charoenkrung Road and simply taking in the atmosphere at my own pace. There's just so much to see and do I find I can spend hours browsing the market stalls and sampling the wonderful varieties of street food. But whenever I’m visiting Chinatown, a must for me is the Yi Sheng coffeeshop. Their coffee is simply unbelievable, and even better when served with some toasted kaya bread slices.




Sunday night, I flew home, tired but happy after another great weekend in Bangkok. It’s a place I never tire of visiting and whenever I’m there I try to check out somewhere new. More than anything, though, I love returning to those places I know so well. It’s like visiting an old friend, and I’m always made to feel right at home. That's why I’ll be back again before too long, for sure! Good food, great company. What's not to like?


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb