Fun with Buddha and Tuk Tuk


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 13th 2006
Published: November 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi again everyone... Well Im now starting to eatsome fruit and I guess thats a good thing... I don't think that the grubs and grasshoppers will satisfy my hunger anytime soon...
So on Sunday I did a lot of walking around Bangkok looking mostly at the Buddha temples. There are so many Buddha here... But the best was going to a muay thai fight... It cost about $50US but I thought it was well spent... They had 8 fights on the card... These guys really put on a show... In the arena they have betting and the locals really get into it... when I come back to Bangkok Im going to another one...

Today I went on one of the river taxies to the sleeping Buddha (yes they name there Buddha) after that I walked to the Kings Palace (he wasn't home) but I could't get in because I was wearing shorts... In case you don't know the temp here is like a very hot and humid toronto summer. and this is winter for thailand... Can you blame me for wearing shorts... So many people ask you where your from and they can read the hat on my head that says CANADA... then they take your map out of your hand and start writing on it where you should go and what to see...LOL... its just so funny.

So after walk around for about 4 hours and seeing 3 more Buddha a Tuk Tuk driver came up to me and told me that for 10b (20 cents) he would take me to some more of the Buddha... I knew that this was just another scam but I said OK and the first stop was a Buddha... The second stop was a Jewelry shop where I went in and looked around... The lady there told me that her daughter was being taught by a Canadian and that she loved Canada... and asked me if I would give her daughter my hat...LOL LOL... not a chance... I told her no but gave her a Canadian flag that I had in my day pack... so after telling her that I wasn't interested in anything I went back to the Tuk Tuk... By now I knew what was going on here and was quite amused... The only thing was that there is so much pollution here in Bangkok that my contacts were screwing up my eyes so badly... But my next stop was to the Lucky Buddha... and then to a Tailor shop to see if they could sell me a suit...LOL Im a backpacker what the hell would I do with a suit... I learned my lesson in Morocco when I bought a carpet and had to travel with that on my back for a month... Then we went to another Buddha and then he was taking me to the TAT which was supposed to be a tourist Beural... Great I can get some info on my next destination... NOT... Another trap... There was two girls next to me and I asked "tuk tuk" they said yes and I laughed...At the TAT they tried to sell me a 2 day package deal for about $150 US... NOT ... so I then told my TukTuk driver that I had enough and to send me home... He was a great guy and I liked him so I gave him 100b and took his Pic... So beware of the Tuk Tuk... LOL.

So now Im going to head to Pattaya for some relaxation and some real sun... There's suppose to be a 1km go-kart track there and that should be one of the highlights...

One more thing... You all can send me messages on this site and make comments too...I hope you use this option and hope you can see the pics that are on this web blog...
Take care...Michael

Advertisement



13th November 2006

Cool!
THis all sounds so incredibly COOL! I can see the pics, they are great! Keep 'em coming!
14th November 2006

Trip
Sounds like a wonderful trip. I have always wanted to travel to the East. Have a great tine and be safe.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb