Travel to Thailand by Air


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 5th 2017
Published: November 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

One really gets a sense of how big the world is when you sit on a plane for 14 hours, traveling at 425 miles an hour, aloft at 35,000 feet only to learn you are still not at your final destination. Such was the case when we left LAX airport at midnight Friday November 3. Flying west, we crossed the international dateline so we got to relive Friday all over again. Believe me it was not a day I wanted to relive.



We left Toledo for the drive to Detroit, the plan was to depart at noon or so, but one of our party was 30 minutes late. He forgot his shaving kit, so he returned home to get it, after traveling half way from his house to mine! Glad to know he will be well groomed in Thailand. So what should have been leisurely drive to Detroit turned out to be able 85 MPH drag race! No problem, as I am used to driving at speeds, my passengers, well that's another thing.



We arrived with some time to spare, parked at the off airport lot and took the courtesy bus to the airport. Check in went off without a hitch and soon enough headed off to the dreadded TSA line.



Now, as seasoned traveler I have a TSA PreCheck, which allows me to pass through a shorter line and I do not have to remove my shoes nor remove anything from my carry on. If you plan on traveling much, or plan on traveling during peak season, I strongly suggest you sign up, it can be a time saver and you are much less hasteled, or so I hoped.



Since I had a PreChecek, my fellow travelers enjoyed the same priviledge. We got to the head of the line, I passed right through, my companion of the shaving kit fame did not. He gets pulled over by TSA and they go through his bag and find the ever elusive bottle of water. Now everyone knows no liquids are allowed through TSA Check, but my friend forgot he had the bottle in the very bottom of his very loaded backpack. Eventually the offending bottle was removed and the three of us headed toward the gate.



On the way we met up with our fourth and so the group of Phil, Ricky, Mike and Richard was complete. He headed toward the gate and awaited an on time departure.



The flight was uneventful, we all had aisle seats and 4 hours later we arrived at LAX. I had hoped we would check in with China Air for the over night flight to Taipei, drop our bags and head to the Priority Club to enjoy some adult libations and food. It was not to be.



We arrived LAX at 5 PM local time. We efficiently retrieved our checked domestic flight bags and took a leisurely walk over to Bradley International Terminal. There we headed straight to the China Air baggage check in kiosk, only to find it was closed!



It seems China Air does not open until 8 PM, so we had a three hour dilemma. Fortunately, a China Air representative was walking by and I stopped her and sought assistance. She patiently hear our problem and politely informed me they open at 8 PM. I knew that already but was hoping for some help since the flight did not actually board till 11 PM, so we actually had a 6 hour block of wasted time.



She looked askance when I asked her to get me a supervisor, which she did, and promptly disappeared. I once again explained we needed to check our bags so we could go to the priority club to wait for the overnight flight. He kindly informed me they open at 8! I was getting no where fast. I stepped up the request, ok now it was a demand for help, and he said we could gate check our bags no problem. Finally a solution.



The agent got to work and proceeded to issue our boarding passes so we could go through security and finally head to the club. Again it was not to be.



Ricky and I travel with a medium sized duffel bag. Richard and Mike chose a large suitcase, plus backpacks and extrainious carry ons. We got to the first point to show our boarding passes, I passed right through, Mike got stopped with his suitcase. I tried to tell the attendant we knew we can't carry on the suitcase and we agreed to gate check the backs, but there was no reasoning with her. Turned away, we headed for the bar to drown our sorrows.



Mike and Richard are not drinkers, Mike only drinks Merlot, and not the kind served as bar swill. Ricky is a tea toddler so I downed two beers, bought pop for Ricky and Richard while Mike chose to stay dry. We ordered a small plate of Quessadilla and fifty dollars later, yup bars are expensive in LA, we headed back to baggage check in.



This time there was a short line ahead of us but the agents were at their stations and we moved right along. We were helped by a kind, young and quite attractive, Chinese, agent who move three of us to exit rows so that we had more leg room for our flight. NICE. Ricky had an aisle seat in another row.



OK back through security, not so fast partner. Security was a cattle call. People everywhere, all herded into ever narrowing rows until we were finally single file and ready to have our passports and boarding passes checked.

No problem for me, passport CHECK, bags through security CHECK, pass through screening, CHECK.

I turn around and my companions are in various states of stopped. Ricky gets stopped for his belt and money in his pockets. Richard has issues with his backpack, and Mike went to another line where he too had belt issues. Other people held up the scanner because they had deadly bottles of water hidden in their bags. Damn what a waste of time. Finally through the line we head to the club.



Now I need a place to sit, cool down a bit and prepare myself for a 14 hour period locked in a tube. NOT TO BE AGAIN. We get to the club and it closes at 8 PM. Really! You have got to be kidding. We still have 3 hours before our flight and no comfortable place to go. So we stake out some chairs by the gate and settle in for the long wait.



Finally we get the call to line up, and prepare to board. This goes smoothly and we settle into out three exit row seats. We did have great legroom but I had the window seat which turns out to be a little narrower than the other two seats because the wall has a curve due to the exit door right in front of me. So for the next 14 hours I endure Mike moving about, getting up and down until he finally settled down. We slept on and off, between meals, water and potty runs.



Some things to note on long flights. Drink water, even if you have to pee, you will not dehydrate and get sick. Bring your own snacks, as the food sucks. Drink the free wine, it will help you sleep. If you take sleep medications dose yourself, as whatever you do, you want to sleep as much as possible.



Well we are about 3 hours yet to go. Breakfast is being prepared and we are nearly set for the final leg Taiwan to Bangkok.



Part 2



We had a two hour lay over in Taipei. Another beautiful airport. Pristine, quiet and almost empty save for a few very earlier straggelers. Strangely enough, we had to go through airport security inside the airport. It was odd to be sure since we had not gone through to the insecure area, just from one side to the other but it required another security check.



OH no, I thought, not again. But we just went through security to get to Taiwan, and we got through, no one added anything to their bags, we were golden. Not so much.



I realized we were leaving Taiwan and going to Thailand, so I came to realize it did make sense. I went first, Ricky second, Richard next and last but not least, Mike. Three got through no problems. I waited in the free area while Ricky and Richard slowly came out, but after 5 minutes, no Mike. Ok, this can't be good, so I head back around the corner and there is Mike, along with 4 other security guards and he is arguing the finer points of why he should be allowed to carry a round ended sizzor on the plane. OK, fair to Mike, he has even carrying the same item for three flights so far, but Thai security would have none of it.



When I came around to Mike's side, he and the head guard were reviewing a Google page showing what was allowed and what was not. The guard insisted no sizzor, but Mike insisted YES. I noticed from out of the back room and heading toward the melee was another guard, this one dressed a suite, black one none the less, with government issued dark sunglasses, which he was wearing inside the room. He had his hand inside his suit jacket and stood between Mike and the exit door.



Quickly assessing the situation, I went to Mike and said, "Let It GO."



"No, this is ridiculous," was the indignant reply. The bespectacled guard stepped forward, again I said "let it go before he won't let you go." Mike relented, the guard stepped away and Mike walked to freedom. There was a moment there I thought we would be visiting Mike in a Thai jail, but the sizzors were lost and Mike was saved. Another close call.



We boarded the final flight and we were off to Bangkok, still a foresome, but it was almost a trio!





.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb