Teaching time!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ayutthaya
February 24th 2008
Published: February 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today has been a very lazy day at the pool! It was lush. Very much needed as have had a very busy week and tomo we've got to wake up at 5am and start living the life of a buddhist monk! I taught my first class of children on friday, I taught 15 gorgeous children in P3, aged 9. I was very impressed with their english already so have lots to work with. I had a brilliant time they were adorable. And especially loved doing times tables!!! How different to english children hey! I'm really really looking forward to the rest of the teaching and they all ran up to me at the end of the day and hugged me and said thank you in Thai loads of times- we sang one song in Thai that i'd learned in my Thai lessons and I don't think they expected that so they were all shocked, they can't say the letter R so i was Miss Malianne, or Teacher Miss Malianne- was very sweet!

On Saturday we went on a dinner cruise along one of the river in Ayutthaya, whilst the sun was setting, it was beautiful and the food actually had meat in it- unlike the ecohouse where i'm staying so that was just amazing!We went to a huge temple there, and to the national museum in the afternoon- apparantly Ayutthaya is the city of gorgousness- I love that name! We also went to an elephant sanctuary and played with baby elephants, one of them had been born the day before and was adorable!!! Their trunks are so soft and their backs were so so fluffy!!!! I can't believe I got to play with elephants as well as tigers and monkeys!!

So next week is going to be quite a challenging one I think- but we'll have to see how it goes. Mr Ghekko is fine and going strong. He decided to sleep in our room again last night! I think I am finally getting used to the cold showers- I never thought i'd say that, but it was 40 degrees here this afternoon so it was very refreshing- its just the morning ones that are tough!! We have rice here for most meals including breakfast- that takes some getting used too- and also we have watermelon and pinapple with EVERY meal, so very different to life at home!

Hope all is well in England!
Much love

Marianne.
xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 84, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The swimming poolThe swimming pool
The swimming pool

This pool was about a 30min drive away from where I'm living- but SO worth it
A Church in Ayutthaya A Church in Ayutthaya
A Church in Ayutthaya

We passed this on the boat cruise, a couple were actually getting married as we passed
House partyHouse party
House party

We were invited to a house party and this was what was there when we arrived- and the dancers started with these clothes on, and then progressively wore less and less as the night went on!! I was shocked!
Gettign a little bit more provocative!Gettign a little bit more provocative!
Gettign a little bit more provocative!

We were just told that it was a house party- this stage was in the back garden- what a shocker!


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0853s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb