Riding round Ayuthaya


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Ayutthaya
February 19th 2007
Published: February 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Having got up early to catch the train from Bangkok we arrived after taking the slowest train ever in Ayuthaya. The '2 hour' train journey managed to take us about 3 and half hours in total, I was tempted to ask a refund for the 15 baht (about 20p) that I spent on the ticket!

Some of the guys we met in Bangkok came up with us for a day trip, so we crammed 8 of us on a tiny tuk-tuk thing to take us to the main street. Checked in to our ghest house (Tony's Place) then we all (except Emily as she was too scared) rented bikes for the day. Never being one to show weakness, when asked if I had riden one of these things before, said of course I have, thinking it cant be much different to riding a pushbike! Well it was a bit of a shaky start at the first corner where I almost took out this Thai guy in the main rode and we had a 10 minute argument where I didn't have a clue what he was saying and he didn't have a clue what I was saying, think the gist of it was that he wanted me to pay him some money and I said there was no lasting damage, anyway it was all good after that (me paying nothing of course staying true to my Scottish roots!).

It was pretty cool riding around once I got the hang of it, went to see a few temples etc as you do. Said goodbye to the guys and Em and I stayed here for a night.

The next day there wasn't really a lot to do so went on a boat ride around the island for an hour or so, checked out the shops then just stayed in the bar until our night train to Chang Mai was due to leave.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb