Exploring Dan Shui Once Again-Love This Town


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
March 27th 2006
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bird's Eye ViewBird's Eye ViewBird's Eye View

The egrets and herons like hanging out on empty boats to get a good view of the fish below.
Today I got up at 10am again-I must have an internal alarm clock that goes off at 10am-a good time to crawl out of bed when you are on vacation. So I took my shower, then went to exchange another US$50 to get me through my last week here. I added NT$200 to my "Easy Card" for the MRT, and put NT$200 away for my bus ride to the airport on Friday-then had NT$1000 left for the week.

I went to Dan Shui again today. I wanted to get more photos here and see if I could find more treasures on the beach. I got a lot of both. Got some good photos of boats with birds on them, a Temple, and the old brick buildings. Also got some more photos of doors and windows-this has ended up being a theme for this years' trip. I went down by the water in two places and found some great treasures-chunks of pottery, glass, bricks, dishes, tiles, a mahjong piece-the fortune piece, a hooloo-very special finds.

Later I met Joann at 5:30 at the MRT station. We went up to her office and I met her boss and her coworker Lucy.
Temple Off The Beaten PathTemple Off The Beaten PathTemple Off The Beaten Path

This is a small Temple in Dan Shui that's in what seems to be an old, abandoned building; yet it is obviously attended to regularly.
Joann, Lucy and I then headed out for some food. We had ew an tang (fish ball soup) at a place very famous for their fish ball soup, then had some zhou bing (baked pork & veggie dumplings)-both were excellent. We went to a fish museum-very interesting. They had fish crackers to sample-they look like a cheetoh but are made of fish-great snack. Then we walked some more and I showed Joann and Lucy my souvenirs I found on the beach-they liked them a lot. We chatted near the 7-11 near their office then we had to say goodbye.

Joann said she was very glad to meet me and welcomed me back to Taiwan. They both urged me to keep in touch-I definitely will. Joann is so nice, I am so glad I got to meet her too, and I will miss her, but will keep in touch through email and an international phone card.

Now I am journaling on the MRT back to Taipei. Three more days to explore, then Friday I will leave here. This will be a happy Friday and a sad Friday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Dan Shui Daisy GardenDan Shui Daisy Garden
Dan Shui Daisy Garden

I came across this cute little circle of daisys while exploring Dan Shui. I have spots like this in my yard, so it made me feel at home. Flowers add a lot to a home and yard.
Sunset in Dan ShuiSunset in Dan Shui
Sunset in Dan Shui

Dan Shui is famous for its' views of the setting sun. They even have a place called Sunset Park, or something like that.
My FriendsMy Friends
My Friends

These are officially the cutest and sweetest girls in Taiwan. Their families must be very proud.


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb