Rock Climbing in Long Dong


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
April 17th 2011
Published: April 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This weekend I went climbing in Long Dong with Matt from InMotionAsia I wasn't aware that there was any climbing in Taiwan until I came across Matt's website. Long Dong is truly a special place. We arrived around 10 AM and walked down to Music Hall. That seemed to be the popular spot to climb. I met a lot of really nice people especially when I pulled out my new Lomo 360 Spinner camera . I even got a silly picture of people taking pictures of my camera. 😉 We climbed a bit more throughout the day in areas close by, I refreshed my memory on making a prusik knot and rappelling. I also got a bit more practice removing cams out of the rock, it's quite a skill to know where the best place to stop and pull pieces out is, my body get tired very quickly while doing it, but it was great thing to start doing.

Even though it was a cloudy day it was still awesome. One of the popular climbs in the area was called whales head. Lots of climbers brought backpacks full of food up to the top, clipped in and hung out, it was a beautiful sight to
Almost to the TopAlmost to the TopAlmost to the Top

Photo By Matt Robertson
see.

One of the most memorable climbs was inside a cave, it was a 5.9 slab climb that was proving to be quite tricky. I ended up doing it a few times to get the feel of it under my hands and feet. I think it will be a problem that I come back to next time I'm there. Lots of hidden foot holds, but once each part is figured out it feels nice to have accomplished.

The day ended with a night traverse back to the car. I was unaware of just how epic the traverse was until we were doing it. Lots of up and down on rocks, no biggy, but what was shocking was the indiana jones looking area where we basically had to inch our feet along a steep cliff while holding on to a wet rope in the rain..at night. eek! As scary as it was it was also a ton of fun. After the traverse was over I happened to look up in the sky to see a light house projecting out into the ocean, it was pretty magical.

I highly recommend Long Dong to any climber of any level, it's awesome and very very beautiful. Matt was a great guide he can be reached through InMotionAsia he's in the process of writing a new book on the area, so be on the look out for that!

Next weekend is Shanghai!





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Amazing ViewAmazing View
Amazing View

Photo By Matt Robertson
ClimbersClimbers
Climbers

Photo By Matt Robertson
New FriendsNew Friends
New Friends

Photo By Matt Robertson
:):)
:)

Photo By Matt Robertson
climbing 1climbing 1
climbing 1

At the bottom


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb