Nǐ hǎo Taiwan


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
April 4th 2011
Published: April 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I've been fortunate enough to be welcomed back to Taiwan to help with audio on another game. So far the people I've met have been awesome and I've had the opportunity to wander about the city a bit. It took a few days to get acclimated and to get over my shyness of ordering food, or talking to anyone since, I don't speak Chinese.

I've wandered around the Shilin Night Market, Ximen and Wu Feng Pu, all very fun and interesting clothes and food. My favorites foods so far have been the danbing (egg circles) oh so good! It's like the best omelet ever. I've also grown quite a liking to a little cafe near my hotel called Corner. Believe it or not they serve the best pasta I've ever had. (keeping in mind i've never been to italy)

I've also become aware that people here love to take photos, analog photography pretty popular. A friend at work sent me to the Lomography Store , it was awesome, so many cool unique photos and cameras. I ended up with a little fish eye camera that I am now experimenting with. Half of the excitement is waiting to see what the pictures turn out like when they are developed :fingers crossed:

This weekend, managed to squeeze in a little hike just past the Taipei 101 building. It's called Elephant Mountain, once you are at the top you get a really nice view of the whole city, however even when I made it to the top my camera could still barely fit the Taipei 101 Building in the shot, it's so massive! If anyone is reading this and is interested in doing this hike it's fairly easy to get to, I used this .pdf for find my way around.

Taiwan Guide to Hiking and Biking

Today, I was planning a trip to Yeilu Geo Park, but the weather has decided to be cold and rainy so that will have to wait for another weekend. However, upon googling other things to do today, I came across some awesome rock climbing in Long Dong. Climbing Taiwan I don't know how I'm going to get there, I don't who I'm going to climb with, hell I don't even have any of my gear, but I must try one of these weekends, I must!

Until next weekend zài jiàn




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Taipei 101Taipei 101
Taipei 101

Massive
Signs pointing upSigns pointing up
Signs pointing up

Elephant Mountain This way!
Little elephantsLittle elephants
Little elephants

Just outside the hiking entrance
Dan BingDan Bing
Dan Bing

May not look like much but it's oh so tasty!
Words of wisdom in the AirWords of wisdom in the Air
Words of wisdom in the Air

this was taken on the China Airlines flight from LAX to TPE.


22nd April 2011
My little fish eye camera

your mom sent me this site. enjoy yourself and have fun.......

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb