End of the line


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
January 24th 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Enough



It is a wise man who knows when to stand and fight and when to walk away and after after much painful deliberating we have decided to end our stay in Taiwan and at the same time our ESL careers. Ironically, just as my job is getting busy, Melissa's is shutting down for winter break. Coupled with the fact that neither of us will earn a dime over the 10 days of Chinese New Year and she has a tax bill looming we've decided to cut our losses, sell up and head for home. The enjoyment has been slowly ebbing away and it would take months to straighten out our finances if we remained. We have both given notice at our respective jobs and have booked flights out of here in the second week of February. I have really enjoyed my job and found it tough to turn my back on it but ultimately, the hours I thought would be forthcoming never materialised. In some respects, the hardest part was making the decision in the first place. Once made, the rest of the process has been relatively easy.

I'm actually excited about starting a new career and am looking forward to seeing my family and friends. Even the prospect of job hunting in a cold, recession hit UK isn't curbing my enthusiasm. While on paper I may not be any more employable than when I left the UK in March 2008, I certainly feel that I have something more to offer. On reflection, the last few months have been extremely tough. I have been living off around $11000 NT/month which has allowed me to eat but not much more. Really, I have found myself asking, what is the point? Yes, we've still had fun but at 28 years of age I need a hell of a lot more. I can never again spend another Christmas destitute. I have rediscovered my motivation and ambition and am itching to get stuck into a new role back home. I had initially hoped to save up enough money here to put down a deposit on a property or even start my own business but I have failed miserably in this. In fact, Taiwan has absolutely ruined me financially, taking my Korea savings and then some more. It's fair to say we made a few bad decisions here but we've also had some absolutely rotten luck too. Hopefully, going home will be the start of something new.

Career wise I am considering two option. One is taking the necessary exams and becoming a financial advisor. Perhaps the safer steadier option. The other is going into a media sales environment, particularly one where I could work internationally which would probably be more exciting, have more earning potential but also be inherently risky. Melissa is going to study for a teaching qualification back in the states. We face an uncertain future but are going to try and make things work. I'd be lying if I said that the situation here hadn't tested us significantly but she is still the most wonderful person in my life even if she does snore and leave hair in the sink.

Unbelievably since I started writing this blog bored and waiting for Melissa to arrive back in August, it has received almost 3000 hits. I can hold my hand up and proudly lay claim to 10%!o(MISSING)f these but even so I'm quite impressed. I'm still intending to write an entry or two before we go, but would like to thank anyone who has taken the time to read any of my offerings and especially those of you who left comments. Even you KJ you massive douche.

It is of course massively disappointing that things haven't turned out as planned and admitting defeat is never a pleasant experience. No matter what happens in the future I think that I will always feel that I have unfinished business in Taiwan. Taipei is a great city and I have become incredibly attached to it. While it certainly isn't the prettiest place on the planet, it is home to some of the friendliest people and is just a great place to be. I think the saying is, "what doesn't kill you makes you stronger" and I believe that my experiences here will stand me in good stead for what ever lies ahead.

p.s Check out taiwanted and tealit if you want to buy a sofa, 24" flat screen monitor or table. Great deals.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb