We sign a contract and have a fight in Ikea.


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
September 13th 2009
Published: September 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: The New Place (post Ikea) 100 secs
[youtube=rb2NFWg4gfM]We only have a few more days before we have to move out the flat. I still don't have a job so it's a risky process. I'm reluctant to commit to anywhere too far from the centre as I don't want to be lumbered with a killer commute. Melissa has found a few ads and we set up some viewings. First up is one in Nangang. This is about as far east as you can get so I'm already unenthused. The apartment is in a beautiful modern tower with a gym, pool and 24 hour security. It's got two smallish bedrooms and a view over the river. On the flip side it's quite expensive, it's completely unfurnished (not even a washing machine) and it's at least a 20 minute walk to the MRT. As neither of us want to die on a scooter we have to completely rule this one out. We look at about five others. Two of them don't even have a kitchen. Everyone eats out in Taipei is the reasoning behind it. True, we eat out a lot but we both love cooking. In fact every flat we see has a glaring problem, whether it be having to risk death by walking along a 5th floor ledge to get to the washing machine or just not having a proper shower. We soon realise that the place we're in is looking pretty good. The master bedroom is enormous and the kitchen and bathroom are modern and nice. It's furnished, has mains gas and we like the landlord. Sod it, we'll stay. I call Martin and we agree a price and organise a time to sign the contract. The place is more expensive than either of us wanted but i think we can be happy here. Check out the video.

I hate Ikea



So Taipei has Ikea. In fact it has two. Whoopy bloody doo. We've just signed a contract on a flat which means we are compelled to find the nearest Ikea and spend our weekend in there buying stuff we didn't need or want. Fantastic fun. Now as a student Ikea could be an enjoyable experience. You'd go along with your mates, act like a bunch of tossers and go home with five sets of plastic beakers, and a lampshade. As a couple it's very different. We have opposed tastes. I like geometric patterns and symetry. She likes bright colours and mix and match. Neither of us have much money. The stage is set for a row and it finally erupts after too much time spent in the curtain section. Two hours in Ikea makes me want to eat my arm. What is with that one-way system. God I find soft furnishings dull. Right now cushions and curtains come second only to throws in my all time hate list and all three can fuck right off. We manage to get out of there with our relationship still intact but it's a close call.


Job hunt update.



Melissa get's an interview with Chris who runs the Business English company. She goes to see him and comes back all smiles and enthusiasm. She really likes the company and feels it went really well. Apparently they want to see me too which is great news. I drop Chris an email and he asks me to come in on Thursday morning. I go out and buy an iron and spend a ridiculous amount of time getting ready. I even wear a tie which might be OTT but I want to make a good impression. The interview is with Chris and his business partner Chris. With me there too it becomes a little confusing but it's a good ice breaker. I chat with them for an hour and I can see why Melissa was so enthusiastic about them. They're both ambitious and have big plans for their company. I'm not naming it at present as I don't know who reads this blog so please forgive the lack of detail. Anyway, I leave there in the same frame of mind as Melissa did. They say they'll be in touch the following day which coincidentally is the same day that Dalton English are supposed to let me know about the Tianmu job. Tomorrow could be a very good day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb