Taipei, Taiwan


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
August 27th 2007
Published: August 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Night MarketNight MarketNight Market

Sausage vendor
Saturday afternoon I flew to Macau and transferred to Taipei. Because of political reasons, there are not any direct flights. This is such a pain and makes airfare especially expensive. I left a bit late on Saturday because I had to volunteer Saturday morning. One of the students said something funny to me. She said that she likes my voice and thinks that the way I speak English sounds like a melody. She said when she rides the bus home my voice is still playing in her head like a song. Haha. It was a nice thing to say, but I thought it was funny because I do the same thing with my Chinese teacher. Her voice replays in my head during the day! Learning language is like a melody; a tune that's really hard to hear and can take forever to learn.

Anyway, I'm in Taipei, Taiwan right now. I specifically came to Taiwan to see was my nai-nai (Grandma). Today I went to see her. I haven't seen Grandma in 18 years! She is 91 years old and she is so cute. She is really likeable. We went to lunch, along with my two cousins I didn't recognize. Well, one I had never met - he's only 15 and wasn't born yet the last time I came to Taiwan. My other cousin is my Grandma's favorite grandson. I met him a long time ago and he studied in NY for 10 years before going back to Taiwan. He is really nice is so good to my grandmother. She totally beams when he's talking to her. So cute. Anyway, Grandma is pretty healthy (she can climb four flights of stairs!) and has a good memory. She seems happy and has a good outlook in life. I'm so glad my Chinese is sufficient to communicate with her. I took a picture which I'll post later. I'm going to go meet my aunt and uncle in a little bit. My aunt and uncle are in their 70s!

I plan to go to the National Museum tomorrow and meet with a friend for lunch. Wednesday I'll see Grandma again. I leave Thursday morning.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Night marketNight market
Night market

Lots of vendors! Just like a flea market.
Shaved IceShaved Ice
Shaved Ice

Frozen vanilla ice milk that is shaved into flakes and topped with strawberry. Yum.
Taipei 101Taipei 101
Taipei 101

Currently the world's tallest. Bad picture, I know.


31st August 2007

Taiwan - A Great Place for All
I am having lots fun and enjoyment to read your travel blog. Wish you have a great trip and enjoy your time off. Papa-M

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb