Weekend fun


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei » LongShan Temple
July 21st 2009
Published: July 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I didn't do too much this past weekend, but I was able to get some of the places crossed off my sightseeing to-do list.
On friday, after class, a couple classmates and I went to Ximending (think the Taipei equivalent of Times Square of Picadilly Circus, except with more teenage girls) to a Shisha bar. Going at about 5:30PM ensured that we were the only customers, which was kind of cool. After the bar, we hit up a McDonalds, which over here is a popular hang out spot, and then went back to the dorms to get ready for a night of clubbing. The club we went to was called Luxy, and its one of the biggest clubs in Taipei. I only know these things through word of mouth though because, being the scatter brain that I am, I forgot an ID and of course Luxy would be the only place in Taiwan that cards everyone, or even cards at all from what I've seen. I went back to the dorm to grab my ID, but walking from the MRT station in pouring rain ensured that I wouldn't go back out that night. Oh well, there's always next time (which I think will be tomorrow night because it's ladies night).
Saturday, I slept in late and went to dinner with my two Korean roommates. We went to a Korean restaurant so that we could have some soju. After that, we went to the Miramar Mall because it has the 3rd largest ferris wheel in Asia. There were some amazing views from the top. After that, we still felt it was too early to go home, so we decided to check out the Longshan Temple area, which is where the snake night market is. A word of caution: don't go there around 11 PM, it is SO sketchy. It's obviously a more touristy place, with guys gutting snakes and people eating turtles next to tourist trap stores, massage places, and sex shops. All around creepy. That didn't stop us from getting a 40 minute foot/neck massage for about $12. The woman who gave me the massage managed to beat the crap out of me, my neck is still sore. And the guy who gave Jamie her massage looked like he could have been in the mafia, with his gold chains and slicked back hair.
We got a late start on Sunday as well. Jildou, Jenny, and I went to the Taipei Main Station underground mall. It was nuts.. the place went on forever. We didn't even go though half of it. I finally got a really cute phone charm there. It's an octopus. So cute. After we got back, Jamie, Jenny, and I went out for some delicious Thai food.
All in all, I think the weekend was a success.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb