I smell.


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei » CKS International Airport
June 19th 2009
Published: June 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Deodorant and a quick brushing do not a shower make.

Sitting in the Taipei airport waiting for my next flight to Bangkok. From there, it will be a slow slog into the city, a 10-hour train ride north to Chiang Mai, and a 3-4 hour bus ride to get me near Mai Ai. I think that means I get there on Saturday. Though last I checked, it was Wednesday.

On the long flight over, I sat next to a health worker from Indonesia, who had gotten 3 weeks off to take his 3 kids (all born in LA) and wife back to his native village. He wants his kids to feel the depth of the opportunity they have in the US, and how hard the struggle was for him to leave the village and to rise above the stark poverty there. So now I'm all introspective thinking about this.






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Bearded gentlemenBearded gentlemen
Bearded gentlemen

We met eyes at LAX. He stood perfectly straight. I think he scanned me.
Qantas LAXQantas LAX
Qantas LAX

Call it an attempt at modern art. Gotta start somewhere. Laugh at my feeble efforts if you wish.
WaitingWaiting
Waiting

A lone man waits for his departure from Taipei. I was enchanted with the colours of the seating.


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1108s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb