Halloween, Taiwan-Style?


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Tainan
October 30th 2007
Published: October 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

First of all, Happy Halloween to everyone! It seems that most of the world partied last weekend, as I have seen many costumed pictures floating around on the internet 😊 As for me, I was told that there would be mostly Western people at my friend's party because Taiwanese people do not celebrate Halloween. At about midnight, I looked around and realized that I was the only white girl there! I guess I've been living in Taiwan long enough that it's normal to me now.

My night of laughter began when I opened the door to Brent's apartment and saw quite a different version of my friend standing there - perhaps his true self coming out 😊 Yes, he was a crazy cave man, showing off his hairy Western legs for all of the Taiwanese to see. As he walked down the busy Tainan street trying to hail a cab, I thought for sure that none would stop for him. Alas, the scent of money got the best of the taxi driver who picked all of us up - a cave man, an angel, a witch, and a vampire. The poor guy even had to ask why we were dressed up! He dropped us off at a little restaurant because my friends needed to eat. There, everyone stared at us dumb-founded for a few seconds before they began to laugh and take pictures. A few people even asked Brent and Dave to be in pictures with them. The fun continued (before the party, mind you) as we walked down the city streets. We were getting even more stares than usual, from old and young alike - a mixture of stunned scooter drivers swerving to look at us, wide-eyed children staring, elderly couples laughing, and even one teenage girl screaming when my friend bared his vampire teeth 😊

The fun continued as the night went on. I was adorned with giant angel wings - a "fallen angel." It was my first year to be "sexy" on Halloween - quite the contrast to my last costume of a pregnant hillbilly. When we went to the dance club where we thought the party was at, no one else was dressed up! We were the only Westerners there, so everyone stared at us. A couple of girls asked to take pictures with me, and quite a few of the boys and girls asked if they could feel my wings! I must say, I can't blame the Taiwanese for thinking Halloween is a strange holiday. What are we celebrating anyway? My friend Steve was explaining to some Taiwanese girls that it is just the Americans' excuse to eat candy when we are little and continue it into adulthood (usually adding some alcohol in there too.) Whatever our reasons, Halloween in Taiwan is definitely an experience I will never forget.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Cleopatra & her cave manCleopatra & her cave man
Cleopatra & her cave man

Brent and Tammy enjoying a night of fun.
Scary Japanese ghost...Scary Japanese ghost...
Scary Japanese ghost...

or something like that :)
Funky, Derek & BrentFunky, Derek & Brent
Funky, Derek & Brent

Little Red Riding Hood, I have no clue (nor does he,) and a cave man
Derek & FunkyDerek & Funky
Derek & Funky

Yes, her name is Funky :)
Me & CassandraMe & Cassandra
Me & Cassandra

Hanging out at the club.


3rd November 2007

What? No leprechauns?
Brent looks like a cardboard cut-out in each picture. Did the cave men HAVE cardboard? Looks like you're having a good time! We're B-A-A-A-ck (in Indiana, anyway)! Be skypin' you out soon.
3rd November 2007

Great friends
I am so glad you have made so many good friends. What a great group of people! I am proud of who you are!
6th November 2007

Proud Bro
Your little brother is proud that you go out and party, haha...Sounds like a wild Halloween, mine was fun too, but I was a party pooper and didn't dress up...Glad you had fun 'seno
11th November 2007

Fun!
Looks like you're having a great time! (Funky is her real name?? HAHA!)

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb