Anping Adventure


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Tainan
September 20th 2007
Published: September 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christine & I Christine & I Christine & I

Christine, my Anping tour guide :)
Although I technically live in Anping (a part of Tainan,) I didn't explore the old Anping until my friend Christine showed me around & took a lot of pictures of me. I didn't have my camera, so you'll have to see a lot of pics of me instead. I apologize in advance 😊 Christine is a teacher at Share Fun and has been living in Tainan for a few years with her husband. It was fun to ride around on the back of her scooter while she showed me the sights.

First, we went to this old oyster ash mill, where they have a museum. Anping is known for it's oysters. They used to make a giant kiln where they would burn the oysters to create ash. The oyster ash was used for cement in many houses in the area. It was interesting to learn all about the "life cycle of an oyster" and to see pictures of the oyster ash making in process.

Secondly, we went to the Anping Treehouse and cultural museum. The "treehouse," used to be an old warehouse. After it was abandoned, the fig trees took over the warehouse and created what is now a
Me, downstairs in the treehouseMe, downstairs in the treehouseMe, downstairs in the treehouse

The branches of the tree had woven themselves through this stack of tires!
web of branchese inside & surrounding the buildings. The city has turned it into a museum of sorts, with stairs and walkways over the roof of the warehouse. It was really fun to be up in the tree! If only I were a monkey...:-)

Next to the treehouse is a cultural museum that has many exhibits. Part of the museum talks about when Taiwan was colonized by the Dutch in the 1600s, and there is a small section that talks about the aboriginal population of Taiwan. Upstairs, there are many wax statues (some are pictured) that help to illustrate the history of Taiwan (after the Dutch were kicked out by a Chinese general.) It is a great museum, and I want to go back when I have time to read all of the information (yes, it's all in English too!)

After the treehouse, we went to the oldest street in Taiwan, which is called (appropriately) Old Street. The street is very narrow (for cars) and is only used for walking. There are vendors lining the street, selling clothes, trinkets, leather, etc. Plus, of course, there are tons of food vendors. Tainan is famous for it's little "snack" foods,
Up in the trees....Up in the trees....Up in the trees....

Me (obviously) on top of the warehouse roof, walking among the branches.
which are mostly fried (and yummy!) We walked down the street, and I wanted to buy souveniers for everyone. They have such cute things! I'll definitely visit the street again before I leave Taiwan.

In keeping with the Anping tradition, Christine took me to try an "oyster omelete." It was pretty good (kinda strange, but that's to be expected.) We also ate some friend shrimp rolls - yummy! Then, I ate some "fried ice." They call it fried because it's basically shaved ice that they spray with an oxygen pump (I think,) so it looks like it is steaming hot. I got mango and some other fruity flavor, and it was delicious. Christine told me that she can't eat ice (a big tradition in Taiwan) because she is "a cold person." Apparently, the Chinese herb doctors tell people if they are "cold" or "hot" people, and that determines what they can & cannot eat. Many women here don't eat or drink anything cold. When I began coughing after eating the ice, Christine said, "I think you are a cold person too!" Perhaps I will visit a Chinese doctor to find out. Then again, I wouldn't want anyone to tell
Cultural MuseumCultural MuseumCultural Museum

Home of the wax soldiers
me I can't eat ice cream! 😊

After lunch, Christine took me to see the beach in Anping - Golden Beach. Unfortunately, the beach is not very nice 😞 I had heard that the water is polluted, but the beach was covered in debris too. I think it could be nice if the city cleaned it up, but they probably think it is pointless because the water is so dirty. So, I have to go to other cities for the beach. Last weekend I went to Kenting, which is the southern tip of Taiwan. It was gorgeous! As soon as I get my pictures downloaded, I'll post another blog for you all to read. I hope all is well in the States :-)




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Chillin' with the warriorsChillin' with the warriors
Chillin' with the warriors

I hate that I can't remember the name of the warrior that saved Taiwan from the Dutch! I need to study up on my Taiwanese history....
Old StreetOld Street
Old Street

This was just a sign in Old Street. I'll take a picture next time when I have a camera....
At Golden BeachAt Golden Beach
At Golden Beach

Feeling the water...it was very warm! Yes, there are surfers in the water, attempting to surf without waves :)


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb