Same girl, Different place


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung
August 26th 2006
Published: August 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok so today is day 4 of my time here in Dajia and I am getting used to it, i think. Today was very educational for me because one of the English teachers took me to the train and bus stations and showed me how to get out of town!! I am desperate to meet up with my friends and explore the rest of Taiwan. I can easily walk to the stations in about 10min. All I need is a note in Chinese saying where I want to go and I am off! The teacher also showed me around some more and offered to show me the swimming pool but said he had to wait until I got a scooter. And for everyone worried about me and a scooter I am only getting 50cc, just enough to get me easily around town.

On the foreigner hunting news... I saw 2 today! I thought that was a good thing but I later found out that the nerdy outfits they were wearing identified them as mormons. Even here I cannot get away from them. So that was a bust on foreign friends. I also found out later that many of the foreigners that work here live in the city since there are more things to do, so boo for me.

Ok random, but right now there is a parade going down my street with obsecenly loud music, drums and firecrackers....note this is the second parade today, weird.

So after my day of exlporing with the teacher I was a little lonely and down, so I was thinking what do I do at home when I am lonely and sad....I SHOP! So thats exactly what I did. I walked to the cutest home store and bought some cute pillows for my bed then I walked to what may be my favorite store here and bought some plastic shelves, foam squares for the floor and an ironing board. This may sound boring but I was pumped to do something that made me happy. On the way home I stopped at a little stand and got some fried chicken.

One thing I have noticed when I got into places or have to order food, the workers eyes get huge and they freak out. I suppose its cause I look like I do not speak Chinese and well.... I dont. But I have gotten very good at pointing and using body language. Most times if I try a little Chinese I get a very positive response.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb