Taiwanese Haircut


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung
March 13th 2011
Published: March 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Went for a haicut yesterday (Saturday)...was not the first time either going to this place. It is located directly below our apartment, and I particularly enjoy getting my haircut here because the people are always friendly, prices are cheap, they pay attention to the tiniest detail of the provided picture I bring in, and it is family owned - which I found out yesterday.

They are quite busy too, with no exception on a Saturday night. I made my appointment for 6, catching the tail end of their hours. When I walked in, an elderly woman greeted me, remembering me from the one previous time I've been in there, way back in October (at least, I would like to think so, I don't understand Taiwanese, but she was certainly friendly enough) I was ushered to a barber's chair, where the elderly woman plunked herself down next to me and proceeded to speak to me in Chinese/Taiwanese. I told her "Wo de Zhongwen yi dian dian" (My Chinese is little) I guess she did not care in the least and still spoke to me in Chinese. Of course I nodded and smiled and did my "I really have no idea what you're talking about, but I'm going to act like I do" expressions. Pulled them off well, because we continued to have a conversation like this for the next 2 minutes without stopping.

My hair was shampooed three times, and getting your hair shampooed here is not like how it is in America. You remain in your seat, and she comes over with a palm full of hydrated shampoo and adds water to your hair via squirt bottle. You essentially have your hair shampooed while sitting vertically. What else is wonderful about this (besides zero neck cramps) is she will also massage your scalp, and many times your shoulders as well, lasting about 10 minutes...ahhhh....

Afterwards, time for a wash, which is equivalent to a wash in America (via head by sink and running water). Then back to the chair to start the trim/cut. It was during this time that I had the best time I think I've ever had getting my haircut. A boy of 10 came over while I was reading my Kindle (electronic book), and asked if it was an iPod. I told him No, and showed him the books that I had on my Kindle. "Wow, so cool," was his reply. He introduced himself as Nick and told me my eyes were wide. To emphasize this point, he grabbed his own eyes and pulled them as wide as he could. I told him, "Yes, but you haven't seen them at their widest." And then I opened my eyes as wide as they could go. He said, "Wow, so wide! My eyes so tiny," and then proceeded to squish his eyes. I told him, "You can get your eyes wide, just open them up" and then he walked around the store like that for a few minutes. At this point, a girl came over and she introduced herself as Nick's cousin, Choshooch. And then another boy came over, and Nick introduced him as his older brother, Jack. Jack is in 6th grade, Choshooch in 5th, and Nick is in 4th. There was another older boy hanging out in the back, but he was a little intimidated to come over. Nick then grabbed Jack's shoulders and started laughing. He then turned to me and said, "Jack think you beautiful." Nick then got a swift punch to the shoulder from Jack, who then turned beet red. Choshooch also got in on it and kept saying, "Yes, he say 'So pretty, so pretty'" By this point, Jack is turned the other way and as red as a lobster. He asked me if I knew any Chinese, and I said, "Wo bu yao choudoufu." (Means I don't want stinky tofu) Everyone laughed and asked me what else I knew. I said, "Jin de ma?" (means "Really?") They all laughed, and by this time, I was becoming the "entertainment" of the salon.

Now here's the fun part. The woman who was cutting my hair pointed to the two boys and then to herself, communicating that Jack and Nick were her two sons. Then she pointed to Choshooch and to another woman sitting at the reception desk behind me, saying that was her daughter. Then the woman pointed to a man sitting across from the older lady, saying that was her husband. Then the husband pointed to another man sitting across the salon, saying that was his brother. The brother pointed to the woman cutting my hair saying that was his wife. Then she pointed to the older woman saying that was her mama, who was also Taiwanese. I looked at the older woman, then had the kids translate that I knew two phrases in Taiwanese - the first, "I die Diawan" (I love Taiwan), to which she smiled and laughed - and the second, "Dium dium" which means Quiet! She really enjoyed that last one. All in all, I never felt my head whip around to greet so many people. It as interesting being the only non-family member present, but being so accepted at the same time.

Before I left, the woman cutting my hair asked me if I had any sons or daughters (a common question here), to which replied with a swift, "Mayo" (means "no" in Chinese). She then asked if I had a husband. "Mayo," I responded, again swiftly. Then she asked how old I was, to which I replied "Er shi si" - 24. Then she smiled, almost in relief, and said, "Still young." So I suppose I'm in the clear for at least another few years to find my man and pop out some kids.

After I paid my 550 NT - about $16 - Jack looked at me and said, "So tall." Then he stood on his tip toes. I stood next to him and got on my tip toes, then he started walking around the salon on his tip toes saying "So tall. So tall," and shaking his head, then said "too short" while pointing at himself and laughing. I said, "Don't worry, you're only 12, you'll be this tall soon." Then I stood on my tip toes again. Everyone laughed. I said my goodbyes and told them I'd be back for another round. You just can't beat a Taiwanese haircut.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb