Internet Abounds


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung
December 20th 2007
Published: December 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Performance DayPerformance DayPerformance Day

One of my classes on performance day. Classes do a performace day about once a year.
As do pictures! Hey everyone, I'm really sorry that I haven't updated this thing since August. I have to type up all of my diary entries and backdate them for you. I've moved, and I'm now lving in a place that has internet (and it's part of the rent, too---huzzah!). So I figured I'd wish everyone a Merry Christmas (especially since, with my record, you proabably won't get your Christmas cards until February or March). Life is pretty quiet. I went to the Christmas celebration for my church. St. Patrick's is this tiny little parish with one English mass a week - which is actually half in Tagolog because all of the English-speaking parishioners other than myself are Philippino. They're really nice, and they keep having me volunteer for little things. I think they find it fascinating that an American girl actually goes to church every week.

I'm also going to a Christmas-y type dinner at Finga's on Saturday for my work. They're splurging and spending a whole $500 per person for all of us 15 poor NSTs who are stuck in Taichung working on Christmas. (That comes to about US$15 per person.) Finga's is cool, though. It's the only
Tree HouseTree HouseTree House

This is my Tree House class - fourteen six year olds who attended bilingual kindergartens. This is the only class I teach more than once a week, and they\\\'re my most hair-raising bunch.
place I've found within a 50-minute scooter ride that actually does mashed potatoes - it's so odd what kind of foods you come to crave when you can't find them. I have to actually work Christmas day. I could have requested it off, but I'm payed directly by the hours I teach. Tuesdays are easy teaching days, and I can really use the hours, so I'll work them. I don't go in to work till five though, so I'll spend the morning and early afternoon opening gifts, drinking hot chocolate and playing with Noel, my cat.

I have to run to work, so I'm going to post this and a bunch of pictures today, but know I'll be back on soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Kaohsiung Night MarketKaohsiung Night Market
Kaohsiung Night Market

Yes, that is a brain on the table.
Only US$30Only US$30
Only US$30

You can have the ugliest beetle on the planet.
National Museum of Marine Biology and AquariumNational Museum of Marine Biology and Aquarium
National Museum of Marine Biology and Aquarium

Coolest aquarium I've ever been to.
KendigKendig
Kendig

In the hostel.
HessHess
Hess

The building where I work


20th December 2007

Hi Marie
Is that a Christmas tree on your desk? Were you influenced by the season in naming your cat? Glad to hear you are doing well and enjoying yourself. xxoo
21st December 2007

Yes, that is a Christmas tree
on the table i built. i love my power screwdriver. and the cat is sorta named after the season. she's named after my favorite doll that was named after the season. i have to celebrate christmas uber-hard, because no one else is...

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb