Chicken Feet.....


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung » Dajia
January 8th 2007
Published: January 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This experience today warranted a short blog entry.
I arrived at lunch famished, ready to dig into the tasty lunch box that awaited me. I was even excited about the soup today, there was no seaweed, red beans or dead fish floating around in it. I was excited that was until i arrived at my seat at the table and saw what was there. In addition to my lunch box with chicken, veggies and rice these was a box of.......CHICKEN FEET! Are you kidding me? Did they really think I was going to eat them. I tried to ignore them the whole time I was eating lunch but they were just staring at me waiting for the inevitable. Just seeing them made me lose my appetite. So I made it thru most of lunch and as I was enjoying my white carrot soup my teachers said "oh, Rachel we have chicken feet today" I responded, " i know i can see the nasty little things on my table." As they were talking about them trying to convince me to eat them I think I threw up a little bit in my mouth. I said there is no way I can put feet of an animal into my mouth, that is just disgusting. Let me describe what these chicken feet looked like to the untrained eye. Well they look like feet, only these chicken apparently have never had thier toe nails clipped before. So in addition to the fact they are chicken feet they also has rediculously long toe nails. I ask you...Who in their right mind would put something like that in their mouth??? The color of these feet was one as if the chicken had layed in the sun for a few weeks and had developed a nice tan (one i wish to acheive in Thailand, but more about that later)
I dont even really like human feet when they are near my face so why would I ever put the feet of a chicken in my mouth?

My one teacher told of an old Chinese saying, "Chinese people eat everything but the table." Oh how true this really is.
I had to quickly finish my lunch before I witnessed anyone eating the feet, because while eating the chicken feet people make a disgusting sucking and slurping noise. The noise is enough by its self to make one toss thier cookies. So I ran to my office to dig into my american chocolate stash.

Advertisement



8th January 2007

haaa
Oh Rach...this one might be one of my favorites.
8th January 2007

Oh my ....
Rachel, ok, I may def have to agree with you! Who would have thought that that blonde, curly headed, PICKY eater would be sharing a plate with chicken feet! Keep these blogs coming...absolutely love them!
8th January 2007

ew!
8th January 2007

Total grossness!
I love it!! I remember being overseas, in Brazil, having finished my sumptious stew, only to realize that my American friends were all laughing at me. I had unknowingly gobbled down my shrimp stew, shells and all. I thought it was a bit crunchy, but as it was dark where we were eating, I had no idea noone had shelled the shrimp and I downed their tails, too. That, too, was total grossness. Maybe you need to eat in the dark. :)
11th January 2007

Yum yum
I just can't believe that you wouldn't give them a try. I'm so disappointed. Just wait until you get to Thailand and Cambodia, and check out the goodies there.

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb