Lovely day in Little Liu Qiu


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Pingtung » Pingtung City
December 7th 2013
Published: September 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Ok so my first idea when in Kaohsiung was to go up North in the Maolin Mountain to see a colony of butterflies. Well...it was a lot more complicated than anticipated and totally out of budget. So, I ended up going south to a little island named Little Liu Qiu (pronouce Shia Liou Chiou).

Turned out to be a really good choice. I had a fun day and getting there was half of the fun. I had to take a bus to Dongang bus station and then another bus to the harbour and a boat. I know I keep finding myself on boats despite my horrible sea sickness. But this time I was fine (both ways). I have to say it was smoother than a ride on-board an Indian bus.

Once on at destination, I managed to rent a motorbike and had a really lovely day going around the island. They call that a motorbike but really it's a scooter and they don't ask for anything (no ID, no license). You just pay and go. I guess you can't go really far on a 9km round island...

This island is made of coral limestone which produce convoluted caves and odd rocks formations. The island is not flat at all so you also get some great view on the beach and the Taiwan Strait. You can see some vestige of the tension over the strait (that was not so long ago): military base with the 'how to use a canon for beginners' guide painted on the wall.

My favourite parts were a small beach at Shanzhu harbor, the forest trail behind Geban bay and the pass through the rock at the Dwarf cave. I had just about enough time to see it all, and I stopped at only one temple. I must have past hundred, no kidding, they are everywhere.

The way back was made very easy by locals willing to help me, I got a scooter ride from the harbour to the bus stop and then when I ended up waiting on the wrong side of the road the woman (to whom I bought a ticket from) actually came outside to tell me to cross the street. People are generally really nice here. It makes my life easier.



Au départ je pensais me baser à Kaohsiung pour aller au nord dans les montagnes voir une colonie de papillons. L'affaire s'est révélée bien plus compliquée que ce que je pensais et totalement hors budget. Du coup, je suis descendue dans le sud pour une excursion sur la Petite Liu Qiu (prononcé shia Liou Chiou).

Eh bien, ce fut un très bon choix. J'ai passé une excellente journée et le trajet pour s'y rendre fait partie de l'aventure. Il m'a fallu prendre un bus jusqu'à Donggang station et puis un autre jusqu'au port et enfin le ferry. Je sais, je suis souvent sur un bateau pour quelqu'un qui a un mal de mer terrible mais bon la mer était calme alors tout s'est bien passé. Et puis soyons honnête, ça secouait moins qu'un bus Indien.

Une fois arrivée, j'ai réussi à louer un scooter. On ne m'a rien demandé, ni carte d'identité, ni permis de conduire. Tu payes et tu prends le scooter. Facile. Bon je suppose qu'ils se doutent bien que tu ne vas pas te barrer de l'île avec le scoot et que c'est pour ça qu'ils ne s'en font pas.

L'île est constituée de roches calcaires à base de corail. Du coup, il y a un grand nombre de caves et de rochers aux formes bizarres. L'île n'est pas plate du tout, donc il y a de supers points de vue sur les plages et sur le détroit de Taiwan. D'ailleurs il reste des vestiges des tensions passées (c'était y'a pas si longtemps). Il reste une base militaire désaffectée sur les murs de laquelle est peint un manuel pour utiliser un canon.

Mes coins préférés ont été une petite plage près du port de pêcheurs Shanzhu, le sentier dans la forêt derrière la baie de Geban et le sentier à côté de la cave des nains. J'ai eu juste assez de temps en une journée pour faire le tour. Et encore je ne me suis arrêtée que dans un temple. J'ai dû en passer au moins une centaine! Bon j'exagère peut être un peu mais il y en a vraiment beaucoup.

Le chemin du retour a été vraiment facile grâce aux gens du coin. On m'a déposé à la station de bus et ensuite la dame qui vend les tickets est sortie de son bureau pour me 'dire' que j'étais en train d'attendre du mauvais côté de la route. Les gens ici sont vraiment gentils et toujours prêt à aider. Cela me rend la vie beaucoup plus facile. J'adore.

Comment on pictures:
orientation = so the EXIT is 183 something away, no clues what the rest are....I least I can get out! // donc la sortie est à 183 quleque chose de distance.... au moins je peux sortir!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

orientationorientation
orientation

so the EXIT is 183 something away, no clues what the rest are....I least I can get out!


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb