It's Friday and I just had my first week of classes...


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Kaohsiung
September 1st 2006
Published: September 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

and I am now heading off to see my friends---god help me as i venture on the train by myself-most know I had a hard enough time in Germany with someone with me, now by myself--yikes!! Ok well I just finished my last class of the day and it went ok. I say ok because I am not for sure if my students really understand the words that are coming out of my mouth, but I can see that they react well to gestural movements and love to do memory and repetition games--total plus! The kids enjoyed the pig noises I made as i explained to them that Iowa, the state I am from, has a lot of pigs---they even put their finger on their nose and scrunched it up flat like a pig---we had some laughs! I was just informed that I have to create the "Daily Sentence News" starting in the next couple of weeks. Meaning I have to act out that choosen sentence for the week-be video taped-and it will be aired to every classroom at school, so the students will practice a sentence each week---this could be entertaining-maybe I will get my hands on a copy and bring it home-you all can laugh!!! I have to say that having an 1 1/2 lunch break and only 11 classes a week is pretty lovely, but I would trade it for an air conditioned classroom ANY DAY!!
I dont think I have ever sweated this much in my life-dont know how much more sweat is in my body--I think that is why they are so skinny here--NEVER KEEP ANY WATER WEIGHT!
I love my third graders, they are so energetic, especially my chunky monkey friend in the third row whos name is "Wilky!"
My teachers and principals have been so nice to me, always wondering if they can help in any way.
I finally got my ARC card, and am officially an Alien of Taiwan ha - maybe I can get internet at home this week. The owner came over to check my heater for my water, he said it worked, I believed him. Until I took a shower this morning and the HOT water lasted for about ummmm maybe 3 minutes--then rushed down the COLDNESS!!!!! someday someday it will work I keep telling myself!!!

Advertisement



1st September 2006

Who needs hot showers?
I just want you to know I feel your pain, when I first moved into my apt. they had the hot water turned down and the shower was freezing after 3 mins., so I called the maintenance man...luckily for me he fixed it ;-) I hope it works for you someday! have a fun labor day weekend! I am just campaigning all weekend :-( Miss you love you bunches!!! <3 catherine

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb