Colombo!!! Here we come!


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka
February 5th 2006
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Finally, city life. I was so excited to be going to Colombo. I wanted to see what city life was like in Sri Lanka. The hustle and bustle of people and cars was some what comforting to me. I got a surge of energy just seeing all the stores and buildings; it brought a smile to my face. The apex of our journey to Colombo was seeing the Indian Ocean. I could not believe it. This was a once in a life time experience. I was overwhelmed with gratitude. Once we checked into the Janeki hotel, the three of us: Laura, Somalla, and I were in awh. We thought we were in 3rd world heaven. They had toilet paper! There was a shower with temperture control! And, Oprah was on tv. Finally some city comfort after so many days of roughing it out. It only got better. We went to Mt. Levinia. The hotel we visited was unbelievably beautiful. Now this was the good life. Swimming in the private beach, sunny skies, warm calm water. Lunch only got better. Real American food! French fries had never tasted so good. The view was beautiful. The day ended with some sari shopping, and a new sun-kissed tan!
I must mention the lectures we had earlier that morning. It was quite an honor to listen to professors top in their field lecture on their passions. Elephants and bats were the main topics of discussion.
I was not looking forward to leaving Colombo. Our next stop was the Coconut Research Institute, yes, you read correctly. Research on coconuts, how weird is that? It was so unfortunate, but we missed out on the institute. Oh well. Arriving at the bungalow was quite a treat. It's landscaping was very pretty. The night only made it more beautiful. As I walked outside, I was greeted by what seemed like a thousand tiny lights. They were fire flies! How neat was this?! They looked like tiny mystical fairies. The tiny lights were infinite. As you looked up, the sky was filled with stars. I know that Im always praising city life, but this is one thing that you can not get in the city.
It was a bit sad to know that this would be our last night together before departing back to our homes in the US. Dinner and drinks were served, and the evening ended with a good rest.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb