Anuradhapura


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka
February 5th 2006
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This would be a very interesting archaelogical fieldtrip. Texas is not know much for archaelogy, so for me, all was new. Our tour guide was Professor Sudharshan Seneviratne. We began by visiting Ibbankatuwa, a site with early iron age megaliths. Next, we arrived to Anuradhapura where we saw caves from the 3rd century B.C. where forest-dwelling monks lived. The Royal Garden displayed ancient hydraulic management, and ended the evening by visiting the Reuanveli seya also known as the Great Stupa. This stupa had such a calming essence to it. You could see its worshipers loyality as they kneeled in prayer.
Like the typical inpatient American that I am, dinner service was horrible. While half the group had finished their dinner, the others still had not been served. My drink, of about 3 oz in volume took 30 to prepare. That is one thing that I learned in traveling to another country. They are not in a hurry, everything is not rush-rush. I had to get up three times, to remind them of what I had ordered, because it seemed to me that they were never going to serve me. I was so annoyed that I gave some of the food the others had ordered to a cat that had been wondering around. Yes, I wanted to annoy the waiter too!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 22; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb