6 Days in Lanka


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Colombo
August 29th 2008
Published: August 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Trip to Colombo: July 6-12, 2008
Transit to Singapore via Singapore Airlines on July 6. One night stay in hotel in Singapore.
July 7 - my trip going to Colombo.
Philippines is 2 and half hours ahead of Sri Lanka time.

DAY 1 IN SRI LANKA
The hotel transportation picked me up in the airport. On the way, I have observed that Colombo is just like one of the Philippines provinces. The roads, the houses, the train, buildings and the people make me feel am back on the 70s. On the other hand, it’s nice to see men and women walking in the streets wearing their traditional dress (sari for the women) on different colors. I feel am in a déjà vu seeing some Filipino women wearing Maria Clara in the Philippine streets. That’s what’s nice about Lankans they are able to preserve their culture even at this modern time.

As the main religion in sri lanka is Buddhism, I saw statues of Buddha in every street of Colombo at different sizes and colors. But, this has been outnumbered by soldiers carrying powerful big/long firearms who are in standing in every corner of Colombo. There is a tight security now in Sri Lanka as there were recent bombings in public places and in public transportations done by the tamil groups.
On this day, I had initiation on the security of this country. On my way back to the hotel after my work in the office, the soldiers signaled my driver to stop. I was thinking that maybe he violated some road rules but to my surprise the soldiers asked for my passport. He checked every page of my passport. My heart was fast beating then. I don’t know maybe I was exaggerating things like what I heard in the news on tv. He gave me back then my passport and I felt relieved. It was only after that I realized they are just doing random check.
Actually, Sri Lankans are really good people. They are very welcoming, kind and shy. Here, I am more confident that the drivers and the people will not trick me. I can leave my things even in public places without worrying that someone will get it.


Day 2

In the evening, the dept manager brought me to house of fashion. Shopping malls here are small compared to manila. But, it’s here where you can buy cheap but good quality clothes. I was able to buy pashmina, shawls, blouse and lots of fabrics. Real good deal. I have something to give already for my friends, family as my pasalubong.

Day 3

My service going to the office arrived late. About 30 minutes late. I learned that its because roads are closed where their president will pass. That’s bad. I always hate it even here in the Philippines. I guess they have to experience what the normal people experience so they will know the problem in the streets.

I was late then for my training. Supposedly I will only give morning session for this day but I decided to continue the discussion in the afternoon. I was so tired this day.

In the afternoon, I went to ODEL. This is a shopping mall where you can find nice and reasonable prices of clothes. I was not able to buy anything coz the sizes are so big coz these are European clothes and so the size.

Day 4
I was asked to checked out in the hotel where I am staying, the Renuka Hotel and to check- in at Ceylon continental hotel. My boss arrived this day and she likes us to be together in one room. Comparing the two hotels, Renuka hotel is a 4-star hotel while Ceylon is a 5-star hotel. But, Renuka hotel has a nicer room than Ceylon as its much newer hotel than Ceylon. Renuka is located in the middle of the city and so is more accessible to different establishments. Ceylon gives a nice view since its located just infront of the Indian sea. Unluckily, you can just just look at the sea and can’t get near to it nor have a picture on that area as the government prohibited it.

In the afternoon, one of the managers there accompanied me to buy some bangles and some sri lankan’s shirt.

Day 5
After the telecon, we were invited for a lunch in a restaurant there. While we were having our conversation , one of the lanka managers pointed to me a guy ordering some food. He said that guy is a popular actor in lanka with their description he is probably the piolo pascual of the philippines. I don’t see how he looks like at first since I only see his back.
I felt that the people are making some little noise , like in the Philippines na mga nagbubulungan pero pasulyap sulyap sa artista. What I did, I went to this guy and talked to Roshan ( his name) and i was able to have picture with him and even brought him to my colleagues for a small talk and have souvenir picture.


Now, I made all my lankan friends happy. When we get back to the office, the people were so shocked and envious but happy looking Roshan Ranawana. The girls were giggling looking at the pics. I have learned from them that Roshan have won the Mr. Sri Lanka by 2007 and the Mr. International (or world) pageant.
Anyway, back to work. Since this is my last day, the General Manager asked me to come to his office. I was surprised that he has a gift for me. He gave me a nice authentic teapot and a box of tea. (Sri Lanka is one of the producers of good tea in the world.) I was really touched by the gesture. I didn’t expect that coz for me, I just did my work and showed who I am.

What I have learned on my trip to Sri Lanka
1. Sri Lanka is a much poorer country than Philippines but the lankans are more disciplined than Filipinos.
2. Lankans are very good people. There is humility for each person. Wala silang yabang whatever their status in the society. The rich ones will even sit down and eat with their hands along with the normal people.
3. Their food is probably will not pass on Filipino / foreign taste buds but it’s nice looking at them enjoying the food they prepared at home wrapped in a plastic and newspaper.
4. They are poorer country yet they are able to finance the education and medical needs of its people. Education in lanka is free from the start you enter the school until you graduated in the university. Even the uniforms here are free. Medicines, hospitalizations are also free here. Now, am thinking how come Philippines can’t give it to every Filipino while we are more advanced than them.
5. Lankans are living a hard life but I guess they don’t realize it. They are smiling people like the Filipinos than the other people on earth who are living in a better state. Sometimes, I like to think if its good to put industrialization and modernity in this countries but their innocence, simplicity and their pure heart will be exploited. I don’t know what’s the better choice.
6. Philippines I can say have gone far compared to other countries like lanka in terms of infrastructures and the way of living. It makes me proud for becoming a Filipino and what we have achieved now.
On the other hand, it also made me think that the cost of progression of the Philippines is losing its own identity. I am actually more convinced now that Filipinos don’t have their own identity. Filipinos are so westernized.
7. I wish someday, sri lanka will be a more progressive country but will still be able to keep their own identity and culture and will still be proud of it.

Saturday- time to go back to Philippines
Here I am travelling alone again going back to the Philippines. I already miss the jeepneys and the food.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb