Busy but happy


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Southern Province » Hikkaduwa
November 28th 2006
Published: November 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Pre-school kidsPre-school kidsPre-school kids

With the pre-scholl kids in the playground
I took my first full English lesson last Friday and just about kept the little darling’s engaged for the full hour. We tried to learn a song (although they are trained to shout in a Victorian style) and then we played bingo on cards I made from a cut-up calendar. I plan to take them for a final lesson next Friday and hopefully they will see that learning can actually be fun.

After my first full week at the school I have established my realistic goals for my time here, but it is a real push to get everything done for the end of term celebration. Get all 15 currently used computers working, including buying and installing memory to allow installation of Windows XP on all the machines. Also spend some of the money that I could have lost in the scam on a new PC base unit with decent spec and toolset (it’s a kind of Karma concept). Sounds easy? Not in this country.

I made a trip to Kandy last weekend with the computer teacher to buy 20 RAM cards (they handle them like playing cards here - needless to say I couldn’t find an anti-static wristband
Sacred Tooth TempleSacred Tooth TempleSacred Tooth Temple

Temple of the sacred tooth-relic in Kandy
to buy one!) and some power cables. I spent what was left of the weekend taking the memory cards to see the Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic (Buddah’s canine allegedly) and the beautiful botanical gardens. The express back to Colombo was fully booked so I stewed on the slow train and missed the connection to Hikkaduwa, having to get through the flooded streets of the capital to find an a/c bus home.

The rain started dripping though the ceiling in the computer room during the storm yesterday, but today I finally (with the help of XP) got my memory stick recognised, which is good because most of the diskette drives and a few CD drives are dodgey. I left for the day after yet another storm-induced power-cut sent my 1 hour Windows installation back to the beginning. It is hard work but both challenging and rewarding. I am even starting to feel part of the village community now.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Lighting an oil lamp for BuddahLighting an oil lamp for Buddah
Lighting an oil lamp for Buddah

Getting into the spirt
Gridlock in KandyGridlock in Kandy
Gridlock in Kandy

And we think we have conjestion!
Blooming beautifulBlooming beautiful
Blooming beautiful

Botanical gardens in Kandy


1st December 2006

English Lesson and PC Repairing
Well done! I think you'll be a good teacher of English and Computer, and overcome all sorts of barriers, if available, every night I'll access your travelblog to view your latest life, never upset when facing difficulities, far far away a friend has fully support to you by spirit!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb