Kandy attractions


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Central Province » Kandy
February 4th 2014
Published: February 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

D11



The Temple of the Tooth was on the menu today, but not for me I am afraid. I have already had one temple too many, as I suspect the others have. Three of us went to town and had a brew before heading off to the Botanical Gardens. Since this was National Day several shops and the gardens cafe was closed so no lunch, but I need to keep my weight under check since I am not cycling anymore for a while. National Day is the 66th Anniversary of Independence from Britain so most people were on holiday and flags were everywhere. The Botanical gardens cover an area of 150 acres and houses 4000 species of plants and was a very good visit with very unusual plants and trees and thousands of fruit bats chirping away in the trees and flying around. I also saw a long snake, which I was promised was not poisonous, but I was not getting too close. The group joined us mid afternoon and we then caught a local bus and went to watch some traditional dancing, which concluded with two men fire eating and walking on red hot cinders. Ooh. Climbing into the mountains tomorrow to tea country on a steam train, I think.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb