5 Weeks Left of Teaching


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
September 11th 2006
Published: September 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

KoahKoahKoah

She's about 3 months... precious.
Well, It's hard to believe Brendan and I have almost finished our one year contract here in Daegu. Only 5 weeks left and the whole first week of October is a long holiday, Chuseok ( Korean Thanksgiving). So, we only have 4 weeks of teaching.
I'll miss most of my kids. Especially my preschool, who I've had from the start and that I teach everyday. I'm their very first foreign English teacher. I molded them into very polite children... well for the most part.
Some of my students won't be so hard to say good bye to... maybe more like "good riddens"😉 But ya, I've formed some strong bonds with some of my kids and I'm sure there will be some tears shed. They have helped me grow over the past year and I am truly grateful to them for being a part my of life.

At the end of July we headed to Beijing, China. It was only for 9 days but definitely an adventure and great learning process for us both. Brendan and I have realized we're much too "soft". We were hideous at bargaining. And we trusted everyone... BIG mistake! We're just so used to Koreans extremely
Cat-MonkeyCat-MonkeyCat-Monkey

Oh my god! Making her mommy nervous being up so high:)
generous natures. We'll be more prepared for our upcoming travels.

I rescued and adopted a kitten a month and a half ago, who we've named "Koah" which means orphan in Korean. She was one of the two that survived out of a litter of six. I love her to death! As you can see by the photo, she is part monkey witnessing her climbing abilities. Have you ever seen a cat do that before???! She definitely has a unique personality and it fits well with both Bren's and mine. She's great fun!!!
Our great friend, Niall will be watching her for us while we're travelling and visiting home for a period of 4 months. I'll be back for her by March. I'll miss her horribly!

Please stay tuned as I will use this travel journal to share Brendan and my adventures backpacking through Asia starting October 15th.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

"I love slippers""I love slippers"
"I love slippers"

She actually got herself in there on her own! Kittens are so fun!
Palgong MountainPalgong Mountain
Palgong Mountain

Me climbing on top of Palgong.
Preschoold Field Trip to a Book StorePreschoold Field Trip to a Book Store
Preschoold Field Trip to a Book Store

Wendy reading to me in Korean. I liked to look at the pictures:)
Beijing, ChinaBeijing, China
Beijing, China

Busy market
Forbidden PalaceForbidden Palace
Forbidden Palace

Me infront of more red walls
Singing OperaSinging Opera
Singing Opera

Down on the market where we ate most of our meals
Where to?Where to?
Where to?

Reading our lonely planet book on Beijing to see where we should go to tomorrow
On The Great WallOn The Great Wall
On The Great Wall

On a super foggy Day!


11th September 2006

Have fun Brandan and Jess. If you are heading to SiemReap, make sure you take a taxi after you cross the border. The mini van ride is a killer. It takes about 8 hours, and the van often breaks down. The taxi drive will run for about 30 bucks but you can get others to come with you. DO NOT exchange money at the border. They will inform that you won’t be able to do it in SeamRieap, but they are lying to rip you off. Good luck, and have a blast!!
11th September 2006

Enjoy!
Hi Jess, Sounds like you are about to have another wonderful adventure!! Am so jealous!! Enjoy! Sue
11th September 2006

Thanks
We will be making our way to SiemReap in November... thanks for the heads up!
11th September 2006

Seeing the world
Hi Jess-Sounds like youve got quite a journey ahead of you. Make sure you let us know every detail, after all, the likelyhood that we're ever going to do the same thing is very small, so were relying on you !! :-)

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb