New place, new people


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
February 28th 2012
Published: February 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

ApartmentApartmentApartment

It's damn sweet!
So, apparently, because I'm the youngest person in my apartment building, I have to wake up early and sweep the hallways >.< I KNEW there was a downside. LOL Anyway, let's start this blog from the beginning of yesterday...

We started out at the dorms in Daejeon (aka Taejon). All of us teachers had to push, pull and drag all of our luggage to the buses, which, for SOME UNKNOWN REASON, had decided to park about a quarter of a mile away. Yes, there were stairs.

So, we get on the buses. We had a couple of rest stops, and, finally (about 2 hours later), we stopped in Gumi to be picked up by representatives from our schools and taken to our cities. I saw a man with a sign that had my name on it, and ran over to him (I was surprised, because I had been told I would be picked up by my co-teacher, who is a woman).

We got in the car for an hour-long ride to YeongCheon. His name is Mr. Lim (pronounced Leem), and he spoke pretty good English, so we were able to have a decent conversation. He told me about
BedBedBed

with cute blankets, too
my co-teacher and Principal and Vice Principal. Apparently, the VP has very good English-speaking abilities, and used to work in Houston. I was like, hey, I used to live there (or nearby...lol)! He told me we would first go to meet the VP, then I could go to my new apartment.

We visited the school, and I met the VP. He seemed pretty nice! It was a relief. I didn't stay for long before we said goodbyes and Mr. Lim drove me to my apartment. It looked new and modern on the outside, and I was relieved to find that it was the same inside. There's a computer here with internet already set up, a decent-sized flatscreen t.v., and good-sized bed with a comfortable mattress, freshly-laundered sheets and blankets, a coffee table with two chairs, a kick-ass washing machine, a big refrigerator, and a little closet. I was astonished... this place is nicer than my place back home! hahaha

Then, my co-teacher, Ms. Soh, showed up and they both helped get my luggage in my room. They showed me the ins and outs of my apartment (I should have paid better attention, because I slept in a frigid,
Duck BulgogiDuck BulgogiDuck Bulgogi

It was the most delicious thing I've ever eaten.
heater-less apartment last night), then Mr. Lim left and Ms. Soh said it was time to go meet some friends. I left my unpacked bags on the floor.

Ms. Soh took me to a coffee shop where we met some other foreigners who live nearby, and one of their co-teachers who works at the high school. The foreigners were Jinae and Wesley, both from Capetown in South Africa. Also, I later met Jessica and Luke, two teachers who had been in my orientation! Weird that I never saw them there. I met six other teachers who live in this apartment building, Ashley, Ilene, Terry, Matt, Bomster and... (oops, I forgot his name).

We all went out for Duck Bulgogi (Korean-style barbeque... delicious!), then drinks afterward. We had some milky rice wine called Makla or something like that. I've had it before in America at a Korean restaurant, but this one was strawberry-flavored - very yummy!

After some drinks, we all headed back to the apartment building and said good night. I thought I'd go straight to bed, but my OCD tendencies forced me to unpack every single article in all of my suitcases, which took over two
Strawberry Mukla?Strawberry Mukla?Strawberry Mukla?

A whole pitcher, too!
hours. Then, after frantically trying to heat up my apartment and failing, I gave up and went to bed.

Oh... as a footnote, the woman who lived here before me, Colleen, left me a Welcome to Yeong Cheon note that gave me some really good tips on living here. She also left me several necessities (silverware and plates), as well as a little gift... an orange-scented bath set. awww

This could be the beginning of a beautiful life in YeongCheon. Well, I'm off to go sweep the floors of the hallways... because I am the youngest. Rawr.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1127s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb