New Years Adventures


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
January 3rd 2011
Published: January 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: New Years Eve in Seoul Korea 219 secs
2: Seoul Tour in our Car 542 secs
To my dearest fans, hard to believe we are now entering 2011. Time continues to keep us all moving forward. Some more quickly than others. I am thinking that many who read this are mentally preparing if not verbally sharing some type of New Years resolution. Hmmm...not sure what mine might be as I have so many great opportunities ahead. Ever wonder why we feel the need to presure ourselves to meet a specific resolution anyway?
Now moving on to the fun travels and events experiences. New Years Eve we had a fabulous time eating dinner at the top of Jongno 33 stories above the city of Seoul. The view was outstanding.
I was honored to take my first road trip with my hubby New Years day. I must say he did a fantastic job at his driving skills in Korea. It is a little bewildering to see a 50 passenger bus change lanes with the full intent of being in front of you. You definitely hear alot of honking, I was never sure if they were honking at us or those surrounding us. As we are acclimating to our car, we found the Navigation System to be in Korean. This can be quite trying if you do not know Hanguel or the Korean language. We spent at least 30 minutes working diligently to see if there might be a way to access some type of English settings. No luck with that one. My hubby decided to drive with no predetermined destination. Once I could see on the guide map that our route showed us getting closer to the border of N. Korea I quickly requested to make a u-turn to head in a southern direction. I had no desire of getting closer, since we have no way of knowing exactly where we could turn around. We did find our way back home safely.
On Jan. 2nd we traveled by car to the Commisary. This was such an awesome feeling to find American food in the grocery store. Our bill was very reasonable and we now have assorted beverages and some foods stocked in the pantry. I so enjoyed this trip. We purchased our first BlueRay DVD player. Last night I made popcorn, yummy drinks and sliced an Asian pear for our snack while we watched a movie in English.
I am so excited to say that I learned how to say Happy New Year in Korean. My sweet housekeeper taught me that one.
I hope you have some time to check out the posted Videos.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb