My Korean Adventure


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
August 20th 2009
Published: September 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post



Ahhhh the long awaited travel blog....




Soooo... I am living in a smaller city outside of Seoul, called Guri. Guri is on the other side of the mountains that surround Seoul and act as a shield to the pollution. Guri claims to be ABC - amazing, beautiful, and clean.


My Home

This is taken from my front step, not however, the view I enjoy from my window. I can only see the window of the apartment right next door. They keep their window open just crack. I like mine open all the way, and have to remember not to go into the kitchen wearing only my underwear...or worse. (it happens in 30 degree, humid weather right?). The apartments are so close I can hear babies crying, people cooking (frying food), and even cell phones ringing basically at all times. It's one small room, with a small separate bathroom and kitchen. The kitchen is very small, and the washing machine takes up the majority of the space. However, as my $1.68 gas bill shows, I am not cooking very much, so the small kitchen isn't a problem.





Janja Park


Janja park is my favorite part of Guri, it is absolutely stunning. I bring my students to this park almost everyday and do the majority of my running at Janja.







Janja park is surrounded by garden plots. You can see fully dressed Korean's, squatting, taking care of the vegetables, no matter what time of day it is or how hot it is. During a run the other night, I saw a group of about 20 Korean's, women and children, in the dark, out caring for and/or picking the vegetables.



Social Life


As much as I DO love Guri, I spend most of my time in Seoul. Most of my friends live in Seoul. We can be found eating at restaurants in large obnoxious groups, at baseball games, socializing (could be mistaken as harassing) with random Koreans and their very cute babies, playing finger games, having loud roof top parties, throwing out the odd dare here and there, and hitting up McDonalds A LOT. I have also been running in Seoul along the Han river at night time. The bridges all light up, and spray water, it's really pretty.



Korean Food

Korean food has been treating me very well. Korean BBQ is the most popular! Samgypsol is a bacon-like cut of meat and Calbi is beef. Both are dipped in sesame oil with salt and pepper, red pepper paste and wrapped in lettuce with garlic and onions and sometimes Kimchi (fermented cabbage in a hot sauce). I have also been experiencing many traditional Korean meals with my school director, co-teachers and students. I have enjoyed things like acorn jelly, kimchi jon (kindof an egg pancake kinda thing), soups, and most of all "special fish". Special fish is something I had the 'pleasure' of trying at the hairdresser's one day. I did not realize how much I dislike fish spinal cord (and lack of ability to chew through it), until I was trying not to lose it on the floor of the salon. Words of advice - DON'T eat special fish . My co-teachers and boss took me to lunch at a Korean restaurant for my birthday, we sat on the floor cross legged and indulged in a 10 or 12 course meal. We ate everything from soups & salads, to octopus pasta, to little grilled fishies. But don't worry, I have been getting my share of Western food too!


More Adventures to Come

I have also been doing weekend trips, to different beaches around Korea, and participating in lots of summer activities. But, I will save those for the next blog!! I know you can't wait. 😱







Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Korean BBQKorean BBQ
Korean BBQ

cooking samgypsol as fast as the boys can eat it
Cute Korean BabyCute Korean Baby
Cute Korean Baby

This is one of two babies I was entertaining at the School Bar after midnight one night, while their parents socialized and drank! In return they sent me a complimentary meal for my friends and I to share! Awsaaaa
My First Taste of SojuMy First Taste of Soju
My First Taste of Soju

The Korean drink of choice. It is less than 2,000 won (about $1.50) for a bottle and is the cause of many blackouts. It's is not unusual to see a Korean passed out on the street due to soju consumption. And well let's be honest... foreigners too!
AdjumasAdjumas
Adjumas

Blocking the sun from their skin. It is a sign of poverty to have tanned skin!


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb