Let's play doctor


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
November 25th 2007
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Where to next?


I will be leaving for Adelaide, Australia in five days after months of planning. At the moment, I am in the midst of packing up my bag to avoid the usual last minute dash I find myself doing. One thing I did do well in advance was update my vaccinations. That did not go well to say the least. I choose a hospital affiliated with a university and one which had an international clinic that could assist foreigners. Unfortunately, the doctor that was assigned to me was a total idiot!!!! You would think that a few rountine vaccinations would be fairly simple, right? WRONG! I told her exactly what I wanted and what I had received in the past. It looked like she didn't believe that I had received so many shots already and kept asking me if I was sure. She decided to test my blood for antibodies to avoid giving me vaccines that were not needed. So I returned the following week and the first thing she told me was that not all of the results were finished and that I would have to come back next week to complete everything! I told her I was not coming back a third time and would not leave until I got my vaccinations. She finally called the lab and got the results. To my surprise she had ordered tests that I hadn't asked for! She tested me for HepC and measels/mumps/ruebella even though I told her I got the MMR shot when I was kid. Plus, I don't think she could have given me a vaccine for hepC even if she wanted to. So, I basically found out I paid $70 to my blood tested for vaccines that would only have cost me thirty freaking dollars!!!! Are you kidding me!?!??! Unfortunately, her incompetence didn't stop there. When I asked for a prescription for anti-malaria pills, she kept arguing that I should take for the entire length of my trip. I told her that I wasn't in high risk areas for the whole time and I had researched about it beforehand. She finally caved but ended up prescribing me the wrong amount of pills! I knew right away she was making another mistake as she was explaining how often I should take the pills but all I wanted to do was get the hell away from her! Once I left, I had to swing by the pharmacy to get the vaccines, only to realize that she forgot to order one of the vaccines that was clearly written down for her. Once I got back to the international clinic, the nurse there told me there was a mistake with my prescription. I told I already knew that but the doctor didn't seem to be very good. It was over two hours before everything was finished....all because of an incompetent women masquerading as a doctor.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb