Reports are done!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
August 9th 2006
Published: August 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick entry tonight, seeing as it's already 11:30pm and I NEED more sleep! We received our bank account info today. A bankbook, a bank card and the money should be in there tomorrow. I think a group of us are planning to go to the bank on our lunch hour tomorrow so that we can check to see that the money got there safely and retrieve it. I could use the bank account while I'm here and take it out only when I need it, but who knows what the bank fees are like or what restrictions there are. Also, if I encounter any problems, I'd rather find out now, with Koreans I can ask for help from, rather than try to deal with bureaucrasy all on my own.....

Report cards are finally done. There were a few that were tricky to write as some students are not performing much at all, others are achieving okay, but their behaviour is atrocious, so quite a range in comments to have to write.

We're also performing songs at tomorrow's Farewell Party. Sadly, I do not know the tunes, and won't be of much help in that department. I was working on report cards tonight when I was told that there was a MANDATORY meeting to work on the skits. I thought that the report cards were a little more important, but I showed up briefly for the meeting anyway. I had known about the meeting, but hadn't really intending on going because I thought that it was optional. I knew we had to present something, but the song we were working on was not going well, there was a lack of enthusiasm, and I thought that particular song would just peter out with lack of interest. Apparently not. The other songs seem fine, and I can probably fake my way through them, but a practice run was insisted upon, and we have another rehearsal tomorrow. Sounds like it's going to be a busy day!

Advertisement



9th August 2006

I've been reading with interest, but lurking. I figured we'd talk when you return, but Mom insisted. We had a similar heat wave for about 1-2 weeks, which ended a few days ago. But I agree that the humidity is worse in Asia. For what it's worse, people always tell me that the sun is more harsh (they say, "about 5 times more harsh") in Canada though. About the behaviour issues... there is a tendency to over-indulge male children (especially first/only children) in Asian cultures, which is part of a self-reinforcing cycle of chauvinism - and sometimes leads to such behaviour issues. I'll bet the girls are mostly well-behaved, huh ? Anyhow, interesting sites huh ? You might want to see a shrine/temple while you're there - not sure if they're substantially different than in Japan, but they make for some cool historic-style scenery. And shopping... while it's also much the same as here, the products, colors, presentation are different too, huh ? Do they have prepared food in the basement floor of department stores like Japan (like giant food courts) ? Anyway, have fun.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb