Last full day of school!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
August 10th 2006
Published: August 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, this may be the last entry for a few days..... Erika and I are headed to Busan tomorrow on the bullet train, and all we have left before packing up and leaving is to have the closing ceremony. We are to present our song, listen to more Korean speeches by bigwigs, and then have the parents look around the room and play an English game. Then it's lunch time and bye bye! (I'd write it in Korean, but I don't know how to spell it....) Annoyo hi kaseyo? Something like that.

Today was not fun. We had too much free time that we were unprepared for, and the kids were HYPER! In the afternoon, we had a rehearsal for tomorrow's presentation and that was long, long, long. We discovered that our kids really didn't know the words to our song, so we took them back to the classroom after the rehearsal to reteach the words. I hope it goes better tomorrow or their parents will be SOOOOO disappointed. It was a pathetic attempt at a performance, in my opinion.

We also got paid today, so we went to the bank (yes, we got our bank accounts and ATM cards!) and withdrew all our money. Good thing for those under-clothing belts..... The weird thing is that Erika, Mike and I went down to the bank at lunchtime and were able to withdraw all the money no problem. The group that went after dinner apparently had bank service charges and then were unable to withdraw a portion because it was no longer a round number. I wonder if that means I have a negative balance???? Can they track me down and keep me from leaving the country because of it? Seems to me like it would be their fault and their problem if they let me withdraw all my money, not my problem! Their bank cards are different than ours. They look more like the European phone cards.

After dinner we had the farewell party. The kids performed (my class sang in Korean....strange choice for an ENGLISH camp!) and we performed. Our songs went okay, I guess. We had had a rehearsal at lunch to run through them one last time, so I guess it helped. The CCs (camp counselors) also performed; they did a dance number. The thing that bugged me the most (as throughout camp) was the amount of Korean used by the MCs to organize, explain, and announce the acts. I had no idea most of the time what was happening because it was in Korean, at an ENGLISH camp! At the very end of the party, they spoke to the kids in Korean, all sad and sombre, trying to make them cry. It worked for the most part. A few of mine are probably glad to go and to see me go! I had to growl at one of my kids a few times today because of his behaviour. Remind me to tell you more about him when I'm home!

So we're off to Busan tomorrow. Hopefully there will be internet there that I can use, otherwise it may be a while before I can write again! Hope everyone is well!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb