What have I been up to?


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
September 29th 2009
Published: September 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Now that I have hit my two month mark things seem to be going more smoothly. At the school I have established a routine with each of my classes and with them knowing what to expect and what I expect in turn really helps. I also have a handful of games and activities that I can recycle depending on the topic. I have also made it through evaluation month, now just to make it through open class month.
I have been asked by numerous people what kind of glorious adventures have I been up to and the sad part is nothing comes to mind. My weekends are usually spent with two others and we may do some exploring followed by Hanguel class and maybe grocery shopping. Life is not as glamorous as some may think. I am not complaining by any means. Last weekend we made our way to the Daejeon National Cemetery which was built to commemorate those who served the country. It is such a beautiful and serene place. The sculptures that have built are absolutely incredible with all the detail that has been put into them. We stayed for as long as we could endure as it was a scorching hot day - yes I have a sunburn - and then we made our way to an air conditioned building. That night we were lucky enough to be invited to a concert that featured many classical artists. They are all so talented and it was a really nice concert. We were not able to stay till the end as we needed to head back for class. That was disappointing because the tenor singer was going to sing ‘You Raise Me Up’ and I really like that song. At class we learned how to describe our symptoms to a doctor or pharmacist and right after class Jess and I put these skills into action as I was in dire need for some meds. I have a common cold that seems to keep lingering. I was not shocked to have gotten sick as it is the norm to cough out into the open space here. Plus I have had numerous students cough directly on me a week before I got sick. Sunday was a day to do nothing! I have not had one of those days since I have been here and it was so nice.
This week is flying by. I am mostly just planning for next month and trying to get stuff in order for Busan this weekend. Super pumped for that trip! On Monday night the lady who owns the villa had a family reunion at her apartment. I had to say it was a tad bit annoying trying to sleep and having to listen to kids screaming. She made up for it though by bringing me food. She has learned that food is the way to my heart. Plus she brought delicious rice cakes : ) Tonight I went to a ballet put on here with local university students. It was a really beautiful performance that told a story about a struggle between two kingdoms. Their costumes were absolutely gorgeous and the one male dancer in particular was amazing. Before the ballet I was lucky enough to be able to go to dinner with three of my co-workers and one of their sons who is a student of mine. I am in love with pork cutlets here - very yummy! On the way back to my place we all sang the hokey pokey. Good times to be had!
-C
A random what grinds my gears : )
When people lay on the horn for 6 consecutive minutes at 7am. Is that really necessary?!


Advertisement



29th September 2009

good read, really great to hear all about your experience.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb