Happy Canada Day, indeed


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Suwon
July 1st 2006
Published: July 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Andrew and Brianne share a cinnabonAndrew and Brianne share a cinnabonAndrew and Brianne share a cinnabon

Sean may have dropped the beer, but he earned all kinds of points handing over his covetted Cinnabons to me. I guess a little flirting goes a long way....at least long enough to feed five starving people.
Anyang.......
I knew it would be a good one. In fact, I almost predicted to a tee how the day would go. Thankfully it went fabulously. Ususally when I look forward to something it all falls apart. Fortunately (this is where I would tell my elementaries, who love the game "Fortunately, Unfortunately"...."no kids, there wasn't an unfortunately this time, and don't you ruin it for me with your pessimism...".......ok, maybe i wouldn't say that) we made it to the hockey game with ourselves and most of the wobbly pops in one piece (Sean almost lost a limb after he dropped the cooler of beers for the bus ride. That would have been a funny riot...20 screaming Canadians beating on an American in the streets of Itaewon). When we got to the arena I could feel my limbs loosening and my heart pounding faster simultaneously. At home, hockey is just a sport. I love it and everything, but some on, it's everywhere. Here, it is a godsent miracle to watch a live game in a little small town arena with boys you know pounding the crap out of eachother and slapping the puck around. I could've died happy....maybe a little part of me did.

The Rocky boys got bronze in the tourney and, considering it was international and the caliber of athletes was pretty impressive, I would've been happy if I were them. But boys will be boys, and of course they weren't "happy". It's all in fun though, even if you lose four days of sleep over it. Geckos, at least, did NOT win. The two bars are rivals, and if Edmonton didn't take the cup, then Gecko's can't take it either, sponsors or not.

Tammy and I arrived in the won early and stored our "stuff" in a love motel for the day. We got back, exhausted and falling all iver ourselves (ok, I'll just speak for myself) around 4:30, had dinner at Gecko's (ironically), and slumped our way back to the motel to get ready. I second guessed wearing the Canadian flag as my outfit for the toga party several times, but figured since it was sent all the way from Canada from my loving mother for that soul purpose, I didn't want to let her down.....

And let her down I didn't. It was a good time....the bar was a zoo, and yet everything seemed
Face offFace offFace off

We arrive just in time for the bronze medal game. I try not to go obsessive with the pictures (look who's talking)
kind of mellow. I refrained from table dancing.....for too long......and nothing substantially interesting happened that I can't write home about. Suffice it to say that it was a good time had by all. And who can't appreciate a toga party, come on....how much more Canadian can you get....lol


All Toga party pics courtesy of Tammy George


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

SlaughteringSlaughtering
Slaughtering

In the background you can see it is in the 3rd period, and yes the score is 8-0....atta be boys, finish on a high note
Canada representsCanada represents
Canada represents

The "opening ceremony" for the gold medal game featured Canada's Ambassador and the mayor of Anyang. The national anthem was a beautiful thing
SingingSinging
Singing

Oh, we were so proud
Flag usageFlag usage
Flag usage

Mom sent me the flag to use for this purpose...disrespect the flag, or disrespect my mother?
Belting a tuneBelting a tune
Belting a tune

Shockingly enough Tammy got me in mid verse
CorryCorry
Corry

tough guy
That's a nice bumThat's a nice bum
That's a nice bum

awkward that I have no idea who it belongs to
I say the cowbay hat and KNEW these were hometown girls...I say the cowbay hat and KNEW these were hometown girls...
I say the cowbay hat and KNEW these were hometown girls...

good fun had by all...I gotta call them
My god TammyMy god Tammy
My god Tammy

that's my girl. Rocky seems to bring that out in people...random nipple sucking....I think?
CraigCraig
Craig

...oh what a stud you are buddy
ShawnaShawna
Shawna

...oh what a stud you are buddy....awkward
TylerTyler
Tyler

pose
CorryCorry
Corry

pose


Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 12; qc: 79; dbt: 0.0807s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb