Tippany-Teacher goes to South Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Suwon
July 17th 2008
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I know it's silly, but I feel as though today was my actual first day in South Korea. I say this because it was the first full day that I had internet at my apartment. It was the first day I went to Seoul. It was the first day that I realized I could get comfortable in my classes and be a good teacher. It was my first solo walk home, and I didn't get lost. I would rather claim today as my first day than the others.

I'm not saying that the four other days I have been here were bad. they've been really good. Everyone here has been so nice. I just have had the feeling of being in Korea much longer than I actually have been. Because of that, I have been hard on myself since coming here: I should be better at teaching. I should be more confident. I should be more independent. I should not get lost and know my way around. I should have more friends and be myself. I should be able to speak and read the language more.

I feel like I haven't been home forever. I feel like I haven't seen or talked to anyone from home in forever. I feel like an age has passed in four days, and I have no idea why. I haven't changed at all yet. I'm sure home hasn't changed much. I have no idea why I feel this way.

Anyway, I should move past all the "my feelings" stuff and move on to "my actions". Teaching has been a challenge so far. Though most of the kids are cute, especially the little ones, I have very few teaching skills yet. I awkwardly teach the older students while my bosses' wife, Rina, helps me teach the younger kids. The younger kids seem to like me better than the older ones. I wonder if there's a connection? Maybe "Tippany-teacher is boring teacher"? I hope that will change soon.

Advertisement



19th July 2008

Tippany
Do they pronounce your name "Tippany?" Is the letter F not used much in their speech?
20th July 2008

:)
I am sure that you will learn great skills and be an excellent teacher. You relate well to kids and people. Don't be too hard on yourself. I hope you got to go to mudfest and I hope we get to talk tonight/in the morning. I am glad I get to read your blog and look forward to reading more. Take lots of pictures. I would love to see the people and places in your life. You are missed. Home hasn't changed a ton but it is quite here without you. Love, Me

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb