Chuseok, my "thanks" begin with the kids


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
October 2nd 2006
Published: October 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I do acknowledge that Thanksgiving has become, as of the past few years, a small dinner, a small moment of gratefulness for family, and good food, and a day off. The hoopla it may have once held, or may hold for other families, has dwindled for our family...and by that I mean that we have accepted it as a wonderful excuse to cook a turkey, and actually sit down at the dinner table together. It is not a large gathering of friends and family...it is not an excuse to overdo it on wine and tell embarassing stories to members of your extended family that may not be as educated on your personal information. But, for that reason, it has become even more meaningful to me. It is a time when our small family realizes how close we are, and how we really only need eachother to appreciate the value of the holiday.

And this year is the first time I have not been allowed that opportunity to enjoy it. Appreciate it, however, I do...even more now that I can only relish the joy it would bring if I was there. But alas, I am not. I am with my kids, dressed to the nines in traditional 'hanbok', hysterical with the knowledge of their different attire, the fact that there schedule for the day was out of whack, and knowing that they were about to get a whole week off to feast.

I missed my family, but there were good things to acknowledge. The kids looked amazing, and it was an incredible experience to see them knee deep in their own culture, something i would not have access to otherwise. And Bill and his family took me for dinner, which gave me the opportunity to experience the family side of the holiday. I don't know what I would have done without Bill as a part of my Korean experience. It meant the world to me to be welcomed into their home, and into their own intimate family experience. That is something I have needed, something i have missed much more than I thought. And that I am thankful for. And for my family at home, to know I have an amazing group of people on the other side of the world to miss.


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Chris and LeoChris and Leo
Chris and Leo

Leo was a camera hog that day....as he is everyday
JasmineJasmine
Jasmine

Beautiful hanbok
Johnny, Kate, and JasmineJohnny, Kate, and Jasmine
Johnny, Kate, and Jasmine

Kate's outfit was, of course, and attention getter
EdwardEdward
Edward

Hammin it up, love that monster
An adorable threesomeAn adorable threesome
An adorable threesome

Johnny, Edward, and Leo
Leo and June, in a headlockLeo and June, in a headlock
Leo and June, in a headlock

It was meant to be a nice pic....
June's prideJune's pride
June's pride

June looked like a pimpin little man in his hanbok.....he knew it
John and WIlliamJohn and WIlliam
John and WIlliam

my little men...behaved
Random William screamRandom William scream
Random William scream

It was perfect...went to take a nice photo of William in his gear, and he busts out a random howl. I don't know why. I never will.
JimmyJimmy
Jimmy

Awkward, but cute, as usual
Attendance timeAttendance time
Attendance time

It was tricky getting any classroom particulars over with that day
My beautiful kidsMy beautiful kids
My beautiful kids

June sees something...he always does
It is a spiderIt is a spider
It is a spider

It probably made their day...at leat the boys...they were mesmorized
Edward and KateEdward and Kate
Edward and Kate

My smallest and largest kids...both, however, the biggest sucks
Liz and AliceLiz and Alice
Liz and Alice

Superstars


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb