2nd Day: The Arrival


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
September 10th 2012
Published: March 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I arrived at Incheon Airport of South Korea at 4:35pm (KST) and I met my tour guide there waiting for me. Her name was Kwon Sohyun and it was a coincidence because her name was the same as a famous pop singer in the girl group ‘4Minute’. She also had an English name which was Sandra, luckily that was a relief for me because I found it difficult to remember her Korean name. She was fluent at both Korean and English. I went to grab my luggage and headed to Seoul where my hotel is located. We travelled there by Sandra’s car and it took us about an hour.

In the car Sandra taught me a few common Korean words like hello, thank you and sorry (annyeong-ha-sae-yo, Kamsam-ni-da, mian-hae-yo) but I already knew them. Before going to Korea I already learnt common phrases and how to read Korean, which was helpful for me as local Koreans are not well speakers of English. Sandra tested me on how well I knew how to speak Korean by asking me words and I would translate it into Korean. We also shared things about each other and spoke about what we liked, such a food, activities, music etc. Sandra was very friendly, understanding and trustworthy and I felt that we had many things in common and it was going to a great trip in South Korea.

The hotel I stayed at was JW Marriot Hotel Seoul and it was a 5 star rated hotel in Seoul. I arrived there at 5:45pm and Sandra took me to my room. My room was a presidential suite and it was on the 10th floor. Since it was a huge room, Sandra gave me a tour of it, showing where the bathroom and bedroom are. Everything was just perfect and looked so luxurious. She said today we won’t be doing anything and it would be a rest day for me after a 33 hours and 35 minute flight. For the rest of the day I just ordered some dim sim from room service and head off to sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb