Firework Festival, The Presidential House, and The Zoo


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
October 14th 2011
Published: November 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Mass PeopleMass PeopleMass People

Crazy amount of people in the subway station. It's usually pretty crowded, but nowhere near like this
I know it has been quite a long time since I have updated this, and I'm sorry. It isn't that I have been so incredibly busy that I wasn't able to update it, but I got a little lazy and into the routine of life here in Seoul, that many times I simply forgot when in fact I had the good intention of updating it.

I am going to backdate these and separate these into a couple blogs partly because of the number of pictures in one blog would be a little overwhelming I think if I didn't separate them.

On October 8th, Seoul held its annual fireworks festival. The Korean mega company Hanwha puts this on. It includes two countries other than Korea to show off some of their fireworks to the people of Seoul. This year was Japan and Portugal. I myself am not a huge fan of fireworks. After a few, I usually feel I have seen them all, but this was a sight to see. They had shapes, letters, etc to keep me entertained for the entire hour and a half or so that the festival lasted.

Taking the subway to get to the festival was pure craziness. You could not fit another person onto the subway without crushing someone. This is not exaggerating. Finally we make it though, and there is a massive amount of people lining the Han River to watch these fireworks. I ended up just choosing an area on the bridge and could see them perfectly, and didn't have to strain my neck to see them by sitting all the way on the ground. I tried taking a picture of all the people that were there, but it was pretty dark, so I'm not sure how well you can see it. The finale was especially spectacular because (of course Korea went last) they lit up one of the bridges.

Three days later on the 11th I decided to take a walk. I had no particular destination in mind, but I ended up walking to the area where there is a kind of museum and the president's residence and grounds. Of course you cannot go on the grounds, but the museum type place was cool to go through. They have this experience room where you can take a picture of yourself with the president and his wife. Then you send it to yourself in an email. I swear that the picture didn't look like this when I sent it, so I'm not sure what happened, but it's funny to see anyway me in the picture.

The next day I decided to go to the zoo. I'm not a zoo fanatic, but once in awhile it sounds like a good idea. I'd never been to a real one outside of the US so I figured it was worth a shot. I ended up spending only about $5 US dollars and saw the rose garden that is before the entrance of the zoo, getting admission into the zoo, and seeing the dolphin/sea lion show which was quite entertaining (even if I couldn't understand what was being said). I will say one interesting thing though, usually on a typical day I will see at least a handful of either Americans, or non Asians around Seoul. At the zoo, I don't think I saw more than 1, which I thought was a little odd. Maybe it's just me though. 7 hours after arriving, I left with many pictures. While I saw basically all the same animals I've seen before, of course the setup was different than others I have been to, and I was quite happy because I got to pet a baby lion. Quite soft and so cute. 😊

This was probably the busiest week I had out of the others, but it was fun and I added some experiences to my list which was nice.


Additional photos below
Photos: 125, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

People againPeople again
People again

So I adjusted it a little, and you can see an idea of how many people were just in this section...
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

So many colors and shapes


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb