A wedding and other randomness in between


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
October 21st 2011
Published: November 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, October, 15, my really good friend (whom I consider as family, like a brother) married his longtime girlfriend that I have been able to get to know more since I've been in Korea. The wedding was held in a Catholic church toward the southern part of Seoul and it was a beautiful ceremony (even if I didn't understand any of it!). Afterwards, we had dinner. The "receptions" are quite different from American style weddings, so basically the couple changes into traditional Korean outfits and goes around to all the guests to say hello and thank you for coming. But it was a nice time because it was one of the few times (only the second) since my friends and I have all been together at one time since I have been in Korea.

I went to a big shopping area called Myeong-Dong and there were so many people. It is a fun area to see all the people shopping and hanging out with their friends, and I picked up a few purchases including a sweatshirt (I just had to), and some makeup that is pretty amazing 😊

That same day when my friend was able to take a break from his work schedule, he met me and his wife and baby and we were able to walk (it was about a 3 minute walk) to a large temple called Jongmyo. I didn't go inside because they seemed to be in the middle of a ceremony or something, but it was beautiful to see on the outside. A very peaceful area in the middle of Seoul. They had flowers everywhere, so I took some pictures of those also.

A couple of the pictures are of me and a couple friends in a bar/sushi place that had this funny (to me) picture of the Beatles painted on the wall. I'm not quite sure why it is there, but it was a nice fun night of relaxing and hanging out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



9th November 2011

pictures
Brittany!! I love all the pictures! So neat-I examined every one of them!! :) So good to hear from you and hear and see about your stay there. Are you working? We think of you often and will be glad to see you again :) Love, Diane

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb