First Day in Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
August 3rd 2011
Published: August 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Changdeok PalaceChangdeok PalaceChangdeok Palace

In front of the main gate.
First day out and about in Seoul today. Had a rough start in the morning due to jetlag. Woke up at 4 AM. Laid there like a zombie until I fell back asleep around 10, then woke up again at 11:15. Thereafter I was promptly sneak attacked by the bidet in the bathroom and couldn't figure out how to turn it off.

Later went and toured Changdeok Palace and it's Secret Garden with Peej. Ate my first mussel aand tentacle today, major feats in my book. Very proud of myself 😊 Also learned I should refrain from smiling at people which is super hard. Evidently it suggests I'm ashamed of something.

I'm staying in a traditional style guest house. It's very charming but a little bit awkward at times. My room is a 6x6 box. When I lie down on the mat my toes touch the door and my head touches the back wall.

Things I now know about Korea:

1. Everyone is super stylish. I need to step up my game.
2. Koreans love to share (including soup and shower shoes).
3. There is a different coffee shop every five feet and they know how to make a mean foam.
4. Little kids like to practice their English with you. It's absolutely adorable!
5. Most people don't consider it necessary to hold doors for others and it isn't considered rude.
6. Seoul is the capital of PDA. Everyone here seems to be a couple and they love to show it. It's cute 😊
7. No one says sorry or excuse me if they bump into someone. According to PJ everyone already knows everyone else is sorry so it's ok. (However, I did get hit with an umbrella today and the girl said sorry, so who knows.)
8. It isnt uncommon to see abandoned drinks or trash lying around, but someone always cleans it up for them.
9. You can get great meals for at most $7 and the servings are huge! They even rival American servings.
10. The humidity knocks the socks off the southeast. Doesn't even compare!




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

ToppokiToppoki
Toppoki

Messy stuff. Requires a bib. Super delicious!


10th August 2011

Love the secret garden photo!
Wow... off to a fantastic start of this year-long adventure. We are so proud of you!!!

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb