The first days in Korea...


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
May 24th 2006
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Korea quite excited to unpack and meet the people. There is He-seok, Hu-jin, and emo and sin-chon. I'm not sure if I got those names/titles right, as I'm learning how to say them correctly. The first night was spent with much talking with much sleep. The next day can be pretty muched summed down to eating and sleeping all day. I swear I didn't mean to sleep all day, as I was so surprised to be awoken by emo 6 pm deep in sleep (I started my "nap" 1 pm).
This journal is the day after the "Great Sleep". While I'm still a bit dizzy for sleep *I was taken away from the computer while writing this and it's the next day so I forgot what I was going to say... so on to continuing this journal*

What I did yesterday, the day after sleeping in all day, ahhh.. actually I dont even know what day that is.... I've lost track of time. Yesterday, whatever day that is relative to the other days, involved going to the ping pong place for the first time. Tons of Ajummas (old ladies) and damn.... they are good. Today, I went to the ping pong place again and this time I was treated to some rice cakes and tea. They all talked and sometimes they would say something in english to me, and this is how all conversations go when there is that language barrier... I either go through some nervous laugther after a pause in confusion or the other people laugh if I can reply back in korean. Going off topic, there is something great when the other koreans think that I don't understand any korean, when I can infact understand their conversations at times. It allows them to say what they want about me without fear of how I may react (at least that's how I would feel it'd go). Anyways, I played against this really old grannie today... like 80 or over... and there goes my stereotypes of old people and ping pong. My left arm is so sore and this is only from two hours of ping pong cumulative from these two days. Every ajumma I've playd, four or five of em, had similar skill.

I rode the subway and bus by myself for the first time. The subway wasn't hard at all in following, just two stops and I get off, but the bus was all too confusing. Definitely nerveracking, but I was able to get back to the apartment somehow; I asked the bus driver where songpang was, he pointed to the other side of the street, I walk over for 5 minutes looking around in utter confusion... to cut it short... was going completely wrong direction but somehow made it home....

Ugh, maybe I'll be able to make a more coherent and structured diary in my future entries... ^_^

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb