Hiking time


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
May 3rd 2006
Published: May 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi again...

Another morning but this time I got up at a better time ---> earlier.

Today I'm going to hike in the mountains (Bukhansan national park) north of Seoul. I found this 6 hour trail in my lonely planet guide so maybe it'll be kinda mainstream...well anyway, it's supposed to include parts of the old city wall and some temples so should be good I guess.

On the way to camera shopping yesterday I realised I had left my guide book in the coffee place where I had breakfast. I went back several hours later to see if it was still there, and well...the girl behind the counter was holding it up for me even before I had finished saying the word "book".

Shopping at the Yongsan Electronics Market was crazy. If you have the time and are eager to find the best price you can walk around forever checking out prices outplaying one store against another... The control freak would panic right away 😊. For me it was enough with a few hours...then I was dead tired of the huge selection and the haggling. I got an ok price though for my camera kit...camera (IXUS65) + hardcase + extra battery + 1GB memory card...about 400EUR.

It's interesting how people you ask in english...in the streets or shops...babble on in Korean even though they know I won't understand...it's like the more they talk the more they expect me to understand 😊.

My first day on my own was ok, but I need to learn a few polite phrases in Korean!

After the gimchi rice and seaweed breakfast today I started to desire musli and milk...bad thoughts go away 😉.

Today IFK plays Landskrona in the Swedish second division...it's a so called "mastematch"...keep your fingers crossed.

Time to hike!

/M

Advertisement



3rd May 2006

Kapitalist
Tjenare Owama! Kul att höra att allt är bra i Korea. Att du som kapitalist skulle springa iväg det första du gör för att köpa dig lite ny elektronik var ju inte helt oväntat... ;) Ikväll háller vi tummarna för Snoka även om báde du och jag vet hur det kommer att gá. Ha're //Johan
4th May 2006

Solidaritet
Samma gamla IFK...tur att man ar hardad. Vet du inte Johan att det hor till god sed att hjalpa det land man kommer till ekonomiskt? Jag var med andra ord bara solidarisk i mitt handlande ;).

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb