Korea: The Land of the Morning Calm


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
February 18th 2010
Published: February 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Korea Orientation 003Korea Orientation 003Korea Orientation 003

All my stuff Epik provided(towel, alarm clock, books, ect)

The Orientation



Alas! I'm in Korea. After over 24 hours of transit (and almost 24 hours of sunlight) I have arrived safe and sound with all the other teachers. Currently I'm at Jeonju University, in Jeonju. It's about 4 hours south of Seoul, and 3 hours West of Busan I think. There are 340 teachers here with me right now going through EPIK's (English Program in Korea) Teacher training. The orientation staff made a funny little video comparing the teachers to the movie 300. They said 340 teachers came to teach 300,000 Korean childre; 340 vs. 300,00! It was very funny. But this is where I'll be until Feb. 27th, which is when we all get shipped off to our cities and shown our apartments and schools.

So far we've had a campus tour, an opening ceremony, and a welcome dinner. Tomorrow is just a medical check up and two class meetings with a Korean film and Korean lessons at night. Then we have one day of serious all day lectures before we go on a feild Trip on Sunday!

They had performers come and do a traditional drum dance, and also a traditional fan dance which were

Korea Orientation 020Korea Orientation 020Korea Orientation 020

My first bit of Kim Chi. It was alright! I had a cucumber based Kim Chi later and It was the best one yet.
both incredible. And we've had 2 Korean meals. I have tried 3 different types of Kim Chi, and liked two of them! One was just too spicy to enjoy. I wasn't too adventurous with the meats today. I didn't try any sushi either, but I know I will. I just need a day or so to get over being jet lagged before I try to completely immerse myself. It still feels a little funny being here. It doesn't feel like I'm on an entirely different continent. But I know why that is. Everywhere I look I see other western teachers, and with any problem I have there is someone to help me in English. Just wait until next week when I'm on my own, lol.

I've heard a few people here exclaim, "Yeah, I thought I'd have more culture shock."

I want to tell them, "You will, once you actually see the culture!" 😊

Well, I'll add some pictures and write more tomorrow. Right now, a very firm mattress (marble slab) is calling, signing, and morse coding my name!



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Korea Orientation 034Korea Orientation 034
Korea Orientation 034

The Drum Dance.
Korea Orientation 004Korea Orientation 004
Korea Orientation 004

The bathroom I share with my really nice, Canadian roommate
Korea Orientation 005Korea Orientation 005
Korea Orientation 005

Our beds. Mine is the messy one on the left.
Korea Orientation 007Korea Orientation 007
Korea Orientation 007

Cool characters.
Korea Orientation 041Korea Orientation 041
Korea Orientation 041

This is the best picture I could get of the Fan Dance. She had an amazing dress! She could use it to make flower shapes when she was spinning!
Korea Orientation 025Korea Orientation 025
Korea Orientation 025

No foriegn place is complete without some creepy abstract art.
Korea Orientation 011Korea Orientation 011
Korea Orientation 011

Looking dazed and high from the jet lag
Korea Orientation 026Korea Orientation 026
Korea Orientation 026

Another cute little sign. It could be saying salute everyone who passes or you'll be killed for all I know. I think it's a traffic sign though.
Korea Orientation 012Korea Orientation 012
Korea Orientation 012

This is the view from my floor of the dorm.
Korea Orientation 044Korea Orientation 044
Korea Orientation 044

Some nice random lights.
Korea Orientation 029Korea Orientation 029
Korea Orientation 029

Look it's Betty! Or is it Veronica? I always get them mixed up.
Korea Orientation 014Korea Orientation 014
Korea Orientation 014

Everything is so much cooler in Korean!
Korea Orientation 016Korea Orientation 016
Korea Orientation 016

They have these really cute people on their official signs.
Korea Orientation 017Korea Orientation 017
Korea Orientation 017

The Dorm I'm staying at. I'm on the 13th floor.
Korea Orientation 045Korea Orientation 045
Korea Orientation 045

A street that confused everyone because we were all too jet lagged to notice the lights were there during the day, so when we came out of our dinner we thought we were in the wrong place!
Korea Orientation 018Korea Orientation 018
Korea Orientation 018

This one is not so cute.


20th February 2010

Hey!
Hey, looks like you're having fun!! i'm so glad you're taking pics of everything, now i can feel like i'm there. hehe. love you!! (i'm totally watching reruns of jeopardy on the game show network... haha. thats how exciting my life is.) love ya! have fun michelle
21st February 2010

heather! so glad you got there safely! the pics are amazing!!! im so excited for you!!! you are going to do a lot of great things! continue to keep us updated! love u!!! - jess
22nd February 2010

Glad to see you made it safely and are finding something you can eat....I have a feeling you will experience many new things in your new home!

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb